Skip to main content

5 tools for a better Literature Review

Whether you are an undergraduate or an experienced researcher, using these tools will make your research process easier and more fun!

Create a Document Library with a Citation Tool

Use the capabilities of a free citation tool like Zotero, Mendeley or EndNote Web by installing a browser plugin:

  • keep track of sources you are currently reading or would like to check out later and save their citation information
  • save the full text of the articles or snapshots of webpages
  • organize in folders and put labels
  • with plugins for Microsoft Word and LibreOffice easily insert in-text citations and bibliography to your paper.

Follow these steps to get Zotero 5.0 working properly:

  1. Create an account at zotero.org
  2. Download the Zotero 5.0 Standalone program in your laptop
  3. Add the Zotero Connector to your browser
  • Mozilla > as extension for zotero.org website
  • Chrome > from Chrome Webstore
  • Opera > from the browser's menu - Extensions - Get extensions.

Connect your online account with Zotero 5.0 Standalone

In your desktop program, go to Edit > Preferences > Sync and input your username and password.

  1. Create a free account and download the program to your computer.
  2. You can synchronize the two platforms with your email account
  3. To add an in-text citation to Microsoft Work, follow the steps in the image:

  1. Mendeley library pops up:
  • select the bibliographic style  
  • click on the button "Insert citation" and choose your citation from the library
  1. At the end of your paper, click on the button "Insert Bibliography" to list all the bibliographic entries of the sources you used in your in-text citations.

EndNote Web can only be accessed online for free. If you would like to have the desktop program as well you need to buy the product.

Follow the steps below to insert in-text citations:

  • Go to the tab "Endnote"
  • Login to your online account
  • Click on the button "Insert citation" and choose your resource
  • The bibliographic entry should be added automatically at the end of the document
  • You can change the citation style by clicking on the button and selecting from the available list. Click on "Update Citations and Bibliography" to apply the changes

Browser plugins

Use these tools to increase your chances finding the full text of articles the library might not subscribe to:

Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Contact Us