Tool 2 - Databases - 5 tools for a better Literature Review - Nazarbayev University LibGuides at Nazarbayev University

Choose the Correct Databases

When you are starting out, you want to cast your net wide: include in your search the big bibliographic databases that cover most of the material published out there. Then you can focus your search in smaller databases if your results are not satisfying enough.

Remember that depending on the discipline, use of databases may differ; Scopus and Web of Science do not index many books, which is the cornerstone of Humanities research, while Scholar does, although the quality is disputed.

Some things you can do with indexing databases:

Focus your search with Advanced Search options and query strings
Filter the results according to date, location, publication etc
Saved searches: save your searches to repeat them later or share them with colleagues. Edit them according to changing needs and circumstances (Works in Scopus & WoS)
Create alerts: create alerts to be notified periodically of new publications according to your criteria (Works in Scopus, Scholar & WoS)
Sign up for RSS: to get new publications according to your criteria in your RSS reader (Works in Scopus & WoS)

google scholar

To learn more about the mechanics of search in Google click on the following link:

Google Advanced Search
To search effectively Scholar use the Advanced Search option and follow the Google Advanced Search guide to learn how conduct effective searches and to use Scholar as a researcher:

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.

Watch the above video to learn how to search Scopus effectively

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is a database for scientific literature, while Web of Knowledge is a research and citation database that lets you search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including an Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. Both can be accessed here, and good for general science use.
- This link opens in a new window