Skip to main content

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS): Home

Search most Library databases at once with EDS

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)

Search for full-text articles, ebooks, newspapers, and multimedia found in Library subscribed databases and selected open access sources. Some databases can not be indexed on EDS and you have to use the direct link to their website. You can find the differences in the description on A-Z databases page or see the tab below with the exceptions.

EDS works similar to Google Scholar but with more control over the results and more features to help you with your research or assignment.

Use the tabs below to navigate to the different features of EDS.

To use EDS visit the Library homepage and from the search box click on the E-Resources Tab. The search box doesn't work like Google. Instead you need to add keywords to either the search box or the advanced search. Once you do a search you will be asked to login with your NU ID and password. 

image of the search box

Search Box

Combine your keywords and use boolean operators to get the best results. You can also choose for your keyword to be only in the journal/title, abstract, or in the whole text of the record.

image of the advanced search box

Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT)

And is automatic in Google search so you don't have to add it except if you are creating a more complex search string. Searches all of the terms entered in the query, ex. (air AND pollution). Use it to narrow your search.
Or results that contain either the one or the other term or both. Put your search terms in bracket and the OR operator in the middle, ex. (Canada OR USA). Use it to broaden your search.
Not results that do not contain the term, ex. (Capricorn NOT astrology) if you want to search for the animal and not your star sign!. Use it to narrow your search.

Combine the searches to get the best results for your topic.

image of how boolean can narrow of broaden your search

Wildcards and Truncation

You can use the symbols in the search box

? The question mark can refer to any letter. Example, search for "ne?t" will return results with neat, nest, or next
# Useful for alternate spellings. Finds words that have or don't have a letter in place of the #. Example, search "colo#r will return results with color or colour
* Use the asterisk to search for root words. Example, search "comput* will return results of computer or computer. It can also be used for whole word. 

 

Refine Results

Once you run the search, you can filter to get even more relevant results. On the left of the results you will see the following options.

Image of the filter screen

Limit To
  • Full text
  • Peer review
  • catalog only
  • Some of the results in EDS are just citations, choose full text if you want articles that have the whole text
  • Articles with peer review can be more authoritative
  • Search the library catalog for just print books. (this option is currently under beta testing)
Publication Date Use the slider to choose the publication date Depending on your topic you may want to compare types of articles published before or after a date range. Or, you might want only the most recent information on the topic.
Source Type Choose from many types of information sources Maybe you only want academic material or maybe a less academic magazine? You can also look for patents, news articles, or theses. You can also search by primary sources or multimedia.
Subject Change depending on the results This can help narrow the results to a subfield in the topic. For instance, if you are looking for information on the Eiffel Tower you can refine the results to topics about architecture, history, tourism, and more.
 

There are many other options to help you refine the search results to find the right information for your topic. 

Other Search Options

  • At the top of the results on the right of the page, you can sort the results by most relevant or by date. 
  • There are page options to change how the results will display. 
  • Share button: Add all the results to a folder in your account, create an email alert if there are changes to the list, copy the permalink so you can get back to all the results, or share with social media. You can also export all the citations.

The list of results can be confusing because there are many options and buttons to click. Here are some things you might see

Research Starter

If your topic is broad, the first result might be a Research Starter. These are usually encyclopedia entries similar to Wikipedia but written by experts. 

research starter

Item Record

Depending on the publisher, the item the record might look a bit different. Here is an example of what you might see

results page

  1. This is the information about the item. The first line is the title with other information underneath such as the author, date, and which database the information is supplied from.
  2. This image helps you easily identify what kind of information this is. Options include: book, article, patent, newspaper, and others.
  3. Instead of "pdf full text" html full text" you may see Open Full text. Clicking this link will bring you to the publisher where you can usually get the pdf. 
  4. Quick access to the tools: Clicking the magnifying glass will bring you to the item record or clicking the folder will add it to your account, or use permalink to share access to the record (more information on the next pages).

Next to number 3, you might see more options that can help you determine the authority or importance of the work or request full text:

  • View record in Scopus, Web of Science. elibrary.ru. These are databases that track journal impact factors, author H-indexes, and other metrics. 
  • Items which we are not subscribed to have the link Request through Interlibrary loan.

Clicking on either the title of the item record or the magnifying glass will bring you to the Item Record. Here is a sample of what you should see.


record page

 


  1. Clicking on this link will bring you to the full text of the item on EDS or on the publishers website.
  2. This is lots of information about the item. Save yourself time by skim reading the abstract to see if it matches your topic.
  3. Subjects and Categories are defined by EDS so might use different words than how you describe the topic. Once you find an item you like, you can use these to help you find similar information
  4. Tools
    • Google Drive: This button doesn't work at the moment
    • Add to folder: save the item to your account
    • Print: This only prints the record, not the full text
    • Email: Send the citation to your email
    • Save: save the citation information as a file
    • Cite: Choose which style you need then copy the information. You can also export to your favorite reference management software.
    • Export: Export the citation to your reference management software
    • Create Note: add a note about the article in your account
    • Permalink: if you want to save the link use this instead of the link in the browser
    • Share: send the record to your social media pages.

The following databases are not included in EDS search. You will have to search these individually using the direct link to their website from A-Z database list.

Subscribed

Open Access

Access Medicine ACL Anthology
American Chemical Society (ACS) AfricanFossils.org
American Economic Association Journals Astana Civil Service Hub E-Library
American Institute of Physics journals (AIP) British Pathe
American Physical Society (APS) Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) EconBiz
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Encyclopædia Iranica
Asia500 Espacenet - European Patent database
ASTM Standards French Revolution Digital Archive
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination INASP
BioDigital International Journal of Civil Service Reform and Practice (IJCSRP)
Bloomberg ITC
BMJ Case reports MetPublications
BMJ Learning National Digital History
Brill History of Afghanistan NATO e-Library
Business Insider Intelligence NIST chemistry webbook
Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC)/Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) NYPL Map Warper
Cell Press journals Patentscope
CITI program database Penn World Table
Clinical Key PQDT Open
CRCnetBASE eBooks Qualitative Data Repository
DeGruyter journals HSS Research Methods Library of Alexandria
De Gruyter journals STEM ROAD directory of open access scholarly resources
Europe 500 The European Library
E-marketer The World Factbook
Economist, The Trusteeship Magazine
Elsevier eBooks UN Comtrade
Elsevier Intermediate Backfiles Collections 1995-2004 UNESDOC
Emerald Education eJournal Collection UNIC Kazakhstan
Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition World Digital Library
Funding Institutional World Health Organization Europe - Kazakhstan
Gartner Child Labor Statistics
IEC 60076 - Online Collection Power transformers Credo Reference Literati
IET Digital Library  
Internet Retailer Top500 Databases  
IOPscience & IOPebooks  
IUPAC Standards Online  
JAMA (Journal of American Medical Association)  
JAMA Evidence  
HEDBIB International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education  
HERDSA  
Loeb Classical Library  
LWW Health Library Basic and Clerkship Collection  
MathSciNet  
MedlinePlus  
Morgan and Claypool  
National Academies Press eBooks  
Nature Publishing Group Journals  
Optics Infobase  
OverDrive  
Ovid  
Passport Euromonitor  
Peter Lang e-books  
Privco  
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global  
PsycNet  
Publons  
PubMed  
PubsHub Journals and Congresses  
Pure  
Royal Society of Chemistry  
Safari Books Online (O'Reilly)  
Science & AAAS  
SciFinder  
Scientific American  
SciVal  
Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)  
SPIE  
Statista  
Taylor & Francis Journals  
The New York Times digital  
The New York Times in education  
Transportation Research Record  
University Press Scholarship Online  
USMLE Easy  
USMLE First Aid  
UpToDate  
U.S. Top 500 Basic  
Wall Street Journal Online, The  
Web of Science  
World Higher Education Database (WHED)  
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services: CRSPCompustat)  

There are many benefits to creating a personal EDS account

  • Save the records you like for later
  • Quickly cite
  • Save search results
  • create search and journal alerts
  • Customize the look of the search results

Login

From the header click "MyEDS login". This account is not connected to you NU Library Account so if it is your first time, you first need to create an account. 

Your Account

Folders

Add items to your folder by clicking on the folder button next to the record title. To see your folder click on the "folder" button next to where you signed in. On the Folder Page there are many options. You can print, email, save, or export the records as well as easily sort the records by type (image, video, ebooks)

Notes

Add a note to the records so you can remember why it was significant.

Something not working and you can not access the item?

  • Contact a Librarian and fill out the form so the Reference department can help you get the document. 
  • Use EDS Help to find detailed instructions about how to search.

Reference Librarians's picture
Reference Librarians
Contact:
Offices #5E.322, #5E.323, #5E.324

Was This guide helpful?

Was this guide helpful?
Yes: 16 votes (94.12%)
A Little: 1 votes (5.88%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Submit a Comment: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 17
Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Contact Us