Welcome to the Basics of Medical Interviewing course guide!
This page is designed for MPCB 600 Basics of Medical Interviewing course students. Below you can find e-versions of the core textbooks and subject-related databases.
The print copy of the textbook is available in the School of Medicine Library collection.
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts.
BMJ Case Reports delivers a focused, peer-reviewed, valuable collection of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals, researchers and others can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. This is the largest single collection of case reports online with more than 2800 articles from over 70 countries.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. Clinical Key team drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
You can find training materials and user guides here Clinical Key User-Kit.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library Trainng
Cochrane Clinical Answers are focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. Visit Cochrane Clinical Answer
DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed Plus includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more. The DynaMed Plus also can be accessed through your mobile devices.
The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the twelve JAMA specialty journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice. We have access to both current and archive content for 11 journals in the network. Feel free to check out the new JAMA Cardiology journal!
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
The largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
If this is your first time using SciFinder-n, you must first activate your account by registering account here: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=BE11717BX86F35040X31DF0F8638E70F5DF6 with NU domain (@nu.edu.kz)..
The CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform (from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society) is designed to support multiple stages and types of scientific research. It combines: CAS SciFinderⁿ, CAS Analytical Methods®, CAS Formulus®.
CAS SciFinderⁿ is a true source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, reactions etc. and for chemistry literature such as articles, chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports.
CAS Analytical Methods® will help you discover the best scientific methods and process to follow.
With CAS Formulus® you have access to the world’s leading collection of formulations, leading you to insights that go beyond literature. Understand a formulation’s origin and effectiveness with access to the best information for active ingredients and excipients. Evaluate ingredients and manufacturing processes; and explore regulatory requirements in one, easy interface.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. 22 specialties are covered, with over 10,500 topic reviews, each of which answers multiple clinical questions.
You have to update your registration every 90 days from the link in this description and login on UpToDate website. After that you may use your account remotely without visiting the libray website for 90 days.
Here is a complete list of all Library database subscriptions.
