It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here you can find medicine specific databases, which available open access and through NU Library subscriptions. Please click to see the description of the database. If you would like to see the whole list, please visit A-Z Databases list.
BioMed CentralThis link opens in a new windowArticles on science, technology, and medicine that are peer-reviewed and open access. Journals and articles include Impact Factor and Altmetrics to help you determine quality science.
BioRxivThis link opens in a new windowA free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Clinical TrialsThis link opens in a new windowClinicalTrials.gov offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. A clinical trial (also clinical research) is a research study in human volunteers to answer specific health questions. Interventional trials determine whether experimental treatments or new ways of using known therapies are safe and effective under controlled environments. Observational trials address health issues in large groups of people or populations in natural settings.
MedlinePlusThis link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is the National Institute of Health's Web Site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Trip Medical DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.
Access MedicineThis link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts.
Acland AnatomyThis link opens in a new windowAcland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new, groundbreaking videos of the inner ear. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationThis link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series.
BMJ Best PracticeThis link opens in a new windowBMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it.
Our step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention is updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion.
BMJ Case reportsThis link opens in a new windowBMJ Case Reports delivers a focused, peer-reviewed, valuable collection of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals, researchers and others can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. This is the largest single collection of case reports online with more than 2800 articles from over 70 countries.
BMJ LearningThis link opens in a new windowBMJ Learning offers high-quality continuing medical education for doctors and other healthcare professionals. It features hundreds of accredited, peer-reviewed learning modules in text, video, and audio formats. When you sign in to BMJ Learning, you'll see your own personal homepage, which displays modules tailored to you based on your profession, specialty and location. This makes choosing the right modules for your CME/CPD quicker and easier.
CINAHL DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals.
Nearly 4 million records
Indexing for more than 3,100 journals
70 full-text journals
Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals
Clinical KeyThis link opens in a new windowClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. Clinical Key team drives better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library Trainng
Cochrane Clinical Answers are focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. Visit Cochrane Clinical Answer
DynaMed PlusThis link opens in a new windowDynaMed Plus is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed Plus includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more. The DynaMed Plus also can be accessed through your mobile devices.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. The nursing edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with over 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets. Searchable together with other EbscoHost databases. For medical and pre-med students.
JAMA (Journal of American Medical Association)This link opens in a new windowThe JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the twelve JAMA specialty journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice. We have access to both current and archive content for 11 journals in the network. Feel free to check out the new JAMA Cardiology journal!
JAMA EvidenceThis link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
LWW Health Library Basic and Clerkship CollectionThis link opens in a new windowNU has full access to this comprehensive selection of 39 authoritative books - covering the 6 core clerkship rotations - ideal for clerkship students, faculty, and directors and coordinators.
The collection features key titles - from the Step-up, Recall, Blueprints, Shelf Life, and BRS series - which are currently only available in print format.
- Over 150 cases, broken down by rotation
- Covers core rotations of Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry
- Users can search or browse content across all rotations or filter to a specific rotation
- All content optimized for desktop, tablet, and mobile usage
- Complete chapters are downloadable and printable, and can be shared with colleagues
- Great resource for both core didactic content, as well as review content through review series titles and Q&A
- Books are continually updated with the most current edition
MEDLINE CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThe largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Nature Publishing Group JournalsThis link opens in a new windowNature publishes journals physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine with high impact factor. Other services include job searches, conference lists, blogs, podcasts, and mobile apps, to help you in your academic career. Our subscription covers the following journals:
Visible BodyThis link opens in a new windowThe database contains interactive anatomy and physiology learning and visualization content that includes 3D models, illustrations, and even animations.
Access is provided through Ovid website, please find the link in the top menu.
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowIf this is your first time using SciFinder-n, you must first activate your account by registering account.
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. 22 specialties are covered, with over 10,500 topic reviews, each of which answers multiple clinical questions.
USMLE EasyThis link opens in a new windowUSMLE Easy makes the questions hard, so passing is easy! With powerful customization tools and more than 11,000 questions covering all the disciplines and organ systems included on the USMLE Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3, USMLE Easy allows you to easily master concepts based on your individual strengths and weaknesses. Critical concepts are reinforced through interactive lectures, as well anatomy flash cards offering 150 full-color anatomy images. You will need to create a personal log in to use this resource.
USMLE First AidThis link opens in a new windowYou have your reasons for becoming a doctor, and it all rides on the USMLE. That’s why for the past 26 years more medical students have chosen First Aid over any other exam prep book. It’s proven. It’s reliable. And it works. You have your reasons - First Aid has your back.