Open Access Publishing: ACM : Read and Publish Agreement

Read and Publish Agreement or Transformative Agreement includes the Article Processing Charge (APC) in the fee that institutions pay for their subscription to publishers. This fee not only covers the cost of accessing (reading) research outputs but also includes the Open Access publishing cost (APC) for authors in certain journals from the publisher's collection. In these agreements, authors usually get to keep the copyright for their articles, and the articles are published under Creative Commons licenses, allowing flexible reuse and broader sharing of research. The outcome is that articles published through these agreements become freely accessible in journals following either the Gold or Hybrid models for Open Access.

Benefits for authors:

• Open Access Publication: Authors can publish their work open access, increasing its visibility and potential impact
• Cost-Effective Publishing: The agreement typically covers the costs of publication, making it more affordable for authors to publish their work open access.
• Increased Visibility and Impact: Open access publications get read and cited more, boosting the visibility and impact of authors' research.
• Simplified Process: The agreement makes the publishing process for authors easier, as the costs and logistics are handled through the agreement.
• Compliance with Funder Requirements: For authors supported by funders requiring open access, this agreement helps meet those requirements.

Reference:

FAQs on Open Access Australasia Website - Oaaustralasia.org. Retrieved January 5, 2024, from https://oaaustralasia.org/faqs/

Please feel free to email us at lrso@nu.edu.kz or visit Library Research Support Office at block 5E, 3rd floor, office 323

Nazarbayev University Library has a transformative agreement  (ACM OPEN) with ACM which enables NU members to publish open access articles on ACM platform. All corresponding authors affiliated with Nazarbayev University could publish their research articles open access in ACM journals, conference proceedings and magazine, in perpetuity at the time of publication at no cost to the authors (subject to the allocated budget and approval).

This agreement grants all NU users online access to and use of the following ACM content: 

• Online access to the complete contents of the ACM Digital Library, including ACM`s entire publication portfolio of journals, magazines, conference proceedings, newsletters, websites, and multimedia files. 
• Online access to all ACM Affiliated Publications, including approximately 65+ journals, proceedings, and bulletins. 
• Online Access to the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, ACM`s bibliographic database and abstracting and indexing service, which is integrated into the ACM Digital library platform.
• Historical Archive. ACM provides complimentary access to the complete archive of all ACM Publications dating back to each publication`s first issue or volume.