Nazarbayev University LibGuides: MATH 161/162: Calculus: Study Resources

Print Books in the Library

MathSciNet Citation and reference list of mathematical articles. Some articles contain synopses not full text.
Cambridge eBooks More than 2,500 eBooks from Cambridge University Press. Subject areas include: English language learning and teaching, History, Sociology, Medicine, Physics, Math, and many more.
Nature Nature publishes high-impact journals across physical, chemical, applied sciences, and clinical medicine. Additional resources include job boards, conference listings, blogs, podcasts, and mobile apps for academic support. NU's subscription includes key journals like Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Energy, Nature Genetics, Nature Reviews Cancer, and Scientific American, among others. There is a trial access (until 26th of February) to articles for 2022-2025. More than 100 most influential journals in the field of natural sciences, among them the journal Nature, Nature Biomedical Engineering, Nature Catalysis, Nature Chemistry and others.

SIAM Review Articles and book reviews covering industrial and applied mathematics
Applied Mathematics Letters Brief descriptions of any work involving a novel application or utilization of mathematics, or a development in the methodology of applied mathematics
Applied mathematics and computation Interface between applied mathematics, numerical computation, and applications of systems – oriented ideas to the physical, biological, social, and behavioral sciences, and emphasizes papers of a computational nature focusing on new algorithms, their analysis and numerical results.
Journal of the American Mathematical Society A high quality in all areas of pure and applied mathematics.
Calculus of variations and partial differential equations Stresses the interactions between analysts, geometers, and physicists. Coverage in the journal includes: Minimization problems for variational integrals, existence and regularity theory for minimizers and critical points, geometric measure theory
Journal of Dynamics and Differential Equations Presents papers on the theory of the dynamics of differential equations (ordinary differential equations, partial differential equations, stochastic differential equations, and functional differential equations) and their discrete analogs.

Active Calculus Each section begins with motivating questions, a brief introduction, and a preview activity, all of which are designed to be read and completed prior to class;.
APEX Calculus The first part covers material taught in many “Calc 1” courses: limits, derivatives, and the basics of integration, found in Chapters 1 through 6.1. The second text covers material often taught in “Calc 2:” integration and its applications, along with an introduction to sequences, series and Taylor Polynomials, found in Chapters 5 through 8. The third text covers topics common in “Calc 3” or “multivariable calc:” parametric equations, polar coordinates, vector–valued functions, and functions of more than one variable, found in Chapters 9 through 13.
Calculus from OpenStax The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
A Summary of Calculus This book includes notes to summarize Calculus.
Brief Calculus This short text is designed more for self-study or review than for classroom use; full solutions are given for nearly all the end-of-chapter problems. For a more traditional text designed for classroom use

Web of Science
Use Web of Science to see a full list of the top journals. Click on "Journal Citation Reports" from the top left then filter by category.

Once you find one, check the Journal List to see if the Library is subscribed.