Reference Sources: Dictionary

"Statistics is the field of knowledge concerned with data collection, data analysis, and data interpretation and presentation. Methodology comprises the many and varied structured ways in which research is conducted answering the fundamental question: How does the researcher effectively gather information for particular purposes? Both are core topics underlying the discipline of psychology and the other social, physical, and medical sciences. Moreover, a basic understanding of the language of statistics and research methods is required for any serious student, scientist, and practitioner in these fields. This dictionary is a focused reference resource that explores the lexicon of these two profoundly interrelated areas."--Jacket

The most up-to-date business English dictionary created specially for learners of English.

Originally published: London : Mouton, 1966. "American Council of Learned Societies. Research and studies in Uralic and Altaic languages. Project no. 65"--Preliminary page

“All cultures have proverbs that capsulize subjects simply and effectively. Many of these are cross-cultural. For example, according to a Danish proverb, "The greater the fear, the nearer the danger," while a Latin proverb says, "The less there is of fear, the less there is danger." This work includes over 20,000 proverbs from more than 120 languages, nationalities and ethnic groups. The proverbs are arranged under 1,300 headings (e.g., accidents, divided loyalty, marriage, prosperity, shame), and each includes the nationality, group or language in which it originated. Comprehensive keyword and subject indexes allow access to the material in multiple ways.” --

"An essential point of reference for anyone wanting to enrich their vocabulary and improve their writing skills, the Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms puts more than 140,000 alternative and opposite words at your fingertips." "This reference includes a supplement of common confusables which explains the crucial differences between similar words that are often mixed up."--Jacket

Understand phrasal verbs and use them-- confidently!

Did you know that 'aardvark' comes from the South African for 'earth pig'? Or that 'assassin' actually comes from the Arabic for 'smoker of hashish'? This book explains why 'bungalow' comes from Hindi and what exactly 'hello' is short for. It is an invaluable guide to the fascinating origins of everyday words. There are literally tens of thousands of English words with entertaining and engaging stories behind them.