Paleontology: Library Resources

On this page, you can see some recommended textbooks, e-books, and scientific books from the library collection. The Library has a large collection of resources on paleontology, many of which you'll find with a simple keyword search. Other words or phrases to try: excavation, paleology, prehistory, antiquarianism, and paleohistory. Find advanced search technics our libguides: Searching for Information, Primo Quick Start Guide, How to Read and Download eBooks?

If you would like to browse the bookshelves, most related to Paleontology materials are in QE, GN sections of the library shelves. Please see the library building maps.

Can not find required or needed resources? We encourage you to recommend titles through the purchase request service and we will consider expanding the collection with new materials.

Primo is a great place to search for articles, academic journals, and other electronic materials. While internet is a powerful search engine, you will benefit from the library resources having access to scholarly and peer-review information from different databases. The search guide will help you effectively find relevant information.

• Keyword Search is "default" search. Keyword searching is usually less precise, but more flexible than subject searching. Particularly useful for new topics, and for combining two or more ideas.
• Subject searching looks for words in the Subject field. Subject searching is a good strategy for topics that are well-defined, and have a lot written about them
• Access more specific search options through Advanced search. Useful when you want to target a search to a type of content or to a specific discipline.
• Omit all punctuation marks.
• Refine Search results by filters on the left side of the page (language, date, type etc.)
• Full text links in order to read/download the articles.
• If there are no copies or the full text is not available:
  • contact your Subject Librarian for help in finding the documents
  • use Interlibrary loan service to request electronic copy of an article or the book chapters.

Databases Search

Database is a collection of subject-specific articles, books, or multi type content which can be browsed and searched including in full text format. Below are the recommended databases from the library subscription with the content related to Paleontology.