Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Data Introduction: Sciences

Library Databases

These databases are provided to you free of charge from the Library.

CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
SciFinder provides access to chemistry literature, including articles, patents, technical reports, and more. It supports research on chemical properties, substances, and reactions through tools like CAS SciFinderⁿ, CAS Analytical Methods®, and CAS Formulus®. These platforms offer authoritative chemical identification, scientific methods, formulations, and regulatory insights. First-time users must register an account a NU domain (@nu.edu.kz) credentials

Open Access Data Sources

These websites and databases can help you find datasets.

Biology

The Journal of Nucleic Acids Research provides a yearly catalog of more than 170 biological databases with topics such as protein structure, RNA, genetic sequences, cancer, and drugs. Just three databases are shown below.


The Carbohydrate Structure Database has NMR data, taxonomy, and structures. Coverage includes bacteria. archaea, fungi, and plants.	MutationAligner enables you to explore mutation hotspots identified in protein domains from more than 5000 patients across 22 cancer types.	DASHR provides comprehensive information on human small non-coding RNA (sncRNA) genes, precursor and mature sncRNA annotations.

Chemistry

Here is a list of 64 free chemistry databases with three highlighted below.


UseNIST Chemistry Webbook to search for name, IUPAC, structure, and reaction.	ChemSpider for literature references, physical properties, interactive spectra, and chemical suppliers	PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.

Physics


HEPData has data points from plots and tables related publications such as Large Hadron Collider.	Re3Data has tons of data sets and is connected to datacite to help cite your data.	Virtual Modeling Repository to view computational model results and data-model comparisons.

Robotics

Many Robotics Labs host data from their research on separate websites so search for data on their project website or institutional repositories. Here are a few places with many robotics datasets not associated with a lab or project.


figsharecitable and shareable data from many disciplines.	DSpaceMIT has robotics data conducted from MIT labs.	Artificial intelligence and robotics laboratorydata

Mathematics


Math is just one of many types of datasets available through Wolfram	Find and share data using Academic Torrents	Datasets from the UCI Machine Learning Repository

Engineering

Engineering is a multidisciplinary topic so many of the websites listed above could be useful.


Senvol has datasets on industrial machines and materials.	Efunda is a quick reference guide for engineers to look up formulas, parameters, and processes.	Use Datasheet to find electronic component datasheets.


IEEE DataPort™ is a valuable and easily accessible data platform that enables users to store, search, access and manage data.	NREL provides procedures, databases, maps, and tools to assess, analyze, and optimize renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies.	AAPG Datapages list of GIS Open Files Earth Science and Energy GIS Resources

Biomedicine


Online Registry of Biomedical Informatics Tools (ORBIT) registry for informatics software, knowledge bases, data sets and design resources.	DataMed is a prototype biomedical data search engine. Its goal is to discover data sets across data repositories or data aggregators.	Biomedical Sciences Toolkit - Portals include NCBI, EBI-EMBL, NIH Data Sharing repositories, and more.