Introduction to Engineering: Reference Sources

10 volumes Encyclopedia 1: Fluid Dynamics and Aerothermodynamics; 2: Propulsion and Power; 3: Structural Technology; 4: Materials Technology 5: Dynamics and Control; 6: Environmental Impact and Manufacturing; 7: Vehicle Design; 8: System Engineering; 9: Index

Apart from covering fundamental concepts in the field of production engineering, it also closely follows recent developments and emerging concepts. In particular, this renewed print edition covers a wide range of new topical entries such as Hybrid Processes, High-Performance Grinding, Biomimetic Design, Cold Spray, Sheet-bulk Metal Forming, Ecodesign, Cyber-Physical System, Nano Technology, or Geometrical Product Specification.

6-Volume Set of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base.

Written by engineers for engineers (with over 150 International Editorial Advisory Board members), this highly lauded resource provides up-to-the-minute information on the chemical processes, methods, practices, products, and standards in the chemical, and related, industries.

Everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology on over 30 000 printed pages in 40 volumes.

Examines fundamental nano principles, theories, and methodologies, as well as the information on nano-relevant properties. This title covers advances in nanoscale engineering, various developed simulation tools, and the computational methods

Around 1,800 articles cover all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena  Structural Phenomena Fundamental Core Theory Structural Materials Polymers and Materials Chemistry Functional Materials.

The A-to-Z history of nuclear technology, including coverage of safety and environmental issues that are particularly topical in light of the Fukushima Daiichi incident. A definitive work on all aspects of the world's energy supply brings together decades of knowledge about energy sources and technologies ranging from coal and oil, to biofuels and wind, and ultimately nuclear power.

Beyond traditional automotive subjects, the Encyclopedia addresses green technologies, the shift from mechanics to electronics, and the means to produce safer, more efficient vehicles within varying economic restraints worldwide. The work comprises nine main parts: (1) Engines: Fundamentals (2) Engines: Design (3) Hybrid and Electric Powertrains (4) Transmission and Driveline (5) Chassis Systems (6) Electrical and Electronic Systems (7) Body Design (8) Materials and Manufacturing (9) Telematics.

This edition expands the breadth and depth of coverage, emphasizing safety, reliability, and quality on operations research, queuing, logistics, and scheduling. Expanded appendix to include conversion factors and engineering, systems, and statistical formulae. Topics such as control charts, engineering economy, health operational efficiency, healthcare systems, human systems integration, Lean systems, logistics transportation, manufacturing systems, material handling systems, process view of work, and Six Sigma techniques.

Critical concepts, such as fluid flow, rock properties, water and gas coning, and relative permeability. Water influx calculations, lab tests of reservoir fluids, oil and gas performance calculations, and other essential tools of the trade. Enhanced oil recovery techniques, including WAG.

Coverage includes: Physical and chemical properties Stoichiometry Phase equilibrium Chemical reaction equilibrium Reaction kinetics, reactor design, and system thermodynamics Flow of fluids and solids Heat transfer Distillation Extraction and leaching Crystallization Absorption and stripping Liquid agitation Size reduction Filtration Air pollution control Water pollution control Biotechnology Cost engineering

Discusses high-level risk analysis and advanced technical considerations, such as process control, emergency shut-downs, and evaluation procedures.

Written by prominent experts in the field, this authoritative new resource provides guidelines for performing a wide variety of Vector Network Analyzers (VNA) measurements. The capabilities and limitations of modern VNA in the context of challenging real-world applications are explained, as well as insights for optimizing test setups and instrument settings, making accurate measurements and, equally important, avoiding costly mistakes.

This comprehensive handbook covers all major aspects of optomechanical engineering - from conceptual design to fabrication and integration of complex optical systems.

Offers details on classic designs as well as the latest techniques, materials, and processes used in aviation, defense, and space systems.

Essential reference source for the latest research on new trends, technology, and computational methods that can model engineering phenomena automatically. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a broad range of topics and perspectives such as acoustic energy, landslide mapping, and natural hazards.

Brings together essential information related to the evaluation of engineering properties of soils, design of foundations such as spread footings, mat foundations, piles, and drilled shafts, and fundamental principles of analyzing the stability of slopes and embankments, retaining walls, and other earth-retaining structures. Also covers soil dynamics and foundation vibration to analyze the behavior of foundations subjected to cyclic vertical, sliding and rocking excitations, environmental geotechnology, and foundations for railroad beds.

Offers an integrated approach to the planning, design, and management of economical and environmentally responsible solid waste disposal system.

It remains the indispensable source for reliable coverage of fire safety engineering fundamentals, fire dynamics, hazard calculations, fire risk analysis, modeling and more.