Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Introduction to Engineering: e-Resources & Data Search

Primo is a great place to search for articles, academic journals, and other electronic materials. While internet is a powerful search engine, you will benefit from the library resources having access to scholarly and peer-review information from different databases. The search guide will help you effectively find relevant information.

Keyword Search is "default" search. Keyword searching is usually less precise, but more flexible than subject searching. Particularly useful for new topics, and for combining two or more ideas.
Subject searching looks for words in the Subject field. Subject searching is a good strategy for topics that are well-defined, and have a lot written about them
Access more specific search options through Advanced search. Useful when you want to target a search to a type of content or to a specific discipline.
Omit all punctuation marks.
Refine Search results by filters on the left side of the page (language, date, type etc.)
Full text links in order to read/download the articles.
If there are no copies or the full text is not available:
- contact your Subject Librarian for help in finding the documents
- use Interlibrary loan service to request electronic copy of an article or the book chapters.

Journals

You can read thousand of journals provided by leading publishers in Engineering. Here some titles to start with:

Wind Engineering
Devoted entirely to the technology of wind energy; includes papers on the aerodynamics of rotors and blades, machine subsystems and components, design, test programmes, etc.
International Journal of Reliability and Safety
Provides an authoritative source of information & an international forum in the field of reliability & safety. This title is no longer being covered by EBSCO and we are unable to acquire any missing content.
Process Safety and Environmental Protection
Focuses on how the process industries address the areas of process safety and environmental protection in a scientific and responsible way.
Computers and industrial engineering
Covers computerized industrial engineering applications, methodology for developing viable computer solutions to industrial engineering problems, and the implementation of different industrial engineering techniques on computers.
Advanced Robotics
Interdisciplinary journal which integrates publication of all aspects of research on robotics science and engineering with special emphasis being placed on work done in Japan.
Advances in Manufacturing Science and Technology
Advances in Manufacturing Science and Technology

Databases

Database is a collection of subject-specific articles, books, or multi type content which can be browsed and searched including in full text format. Below are the recommended databases from the library subscription with related content.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the name of the platform where you have unlimited, full-text access to more than three million documents of all resources below:
- IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains articles and conference proceedings published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). For engineering students.
- IEEE-MIT eBooks library offers access to almost 550 online books, with nearly 40 new titles introduced every year. Content includes award-winning titles on computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering. Over 10,000 chapters are available as downloadable PDFs.
- MIT press journals is a non-profit academic publisher. The Journals branch was founded in 1969 and currently publishes more than 30 titles, many with a high impact factor, that cover arts and humanities, social sciences, and specialized areas of science and technology. MIT Press Journals strives to publish reputable, innovative, cross-cultural content that reaches around the globe.
- IEEE-Wiley eBooks offers online access to over 700 eBooks, covering content including bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies. The books range from introductory to advanced coverage of topics. More than 80% of titles were added after 2000 and approximately 40 new titles are added every year. Over 13,000 chapters are available as downloadable PDFs.
ACM Digital Library
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform. It covers topics of computing and information technology, with more than 400,000 full text articles, and even more conference proceedings, and multimedia titles.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education (Safari Books Online) is a fully searchable e-reference library housing a collection of technical eBooks that cover the technologies most essential to users, including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. The platform contains videos, audio books, learning paths, tutorials, case studies, oriole online tutorials. Users are able to search hundreds of books simultaneously online. The user needs to register with a valid Nazarbayev University email address and log in by choosing "Institution not listed" link.
IOPscience & IOPebooks
IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. IOPscience platform contains peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences and eBooks published by IOP (Institute of Physics) Publishing.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 4000 peer-reviewed Elsevier journals and more than 35,000 eBooks in a range of subjects, including engineering, sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
To access the resource register with your NU email.

Data Search

You may search in databases like Science Direct, PubMed or other from A-Z list. In the advanced search or having results apply limiter Dataset if it is there. Below are the links to the repositories where you can find open access data.

Mendeley Data
Search and cite millions datasets, software, images and other files from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories 4TU, Dryade, ICPSR, Zenodo and more.
Google Dataset Search
Find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search.
Asia Pacific Energy Portal
Open-access information platform, providing data visualizations for an extensive set of energy statistics, full-text policies, and interactive infrastructure maps.
Figshare
Repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner
Data One
Access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data
Dryade Digital Repository
Curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
Re3dataorg
Global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines

Data Introduction
by Reference Librarians Updated Mar 18, 2025 308 views this year