Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Economics: Data

Datasets and Data Databases

Below you will find a list of data databases our library subscribes to. Please note that for some of them you need to contact your subject librarian, create and account and visit the library to be able to work with the dedicated terminals of these databases

Bloomberg

"Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs, customized analytics, company and industry news, economic data, statistics and estimates."

Paragraph

a unique reference system, which brings together a number of information blocks - law, accounting, full text regulations and standards, information on public institutions, public services, social sector and service sector organizations in Kazakhstan.

Bloomberg & Paragraph Terminals
Click here to select the time slots you can use the terminal

Privco This link opens in a new window
PrivCo's focus is on companies that are earning at least $1 million in annual revenue or have at least $1 million in venture capital backing. PrivCo users will find family-owned or owner-operated firms that have no financial data available elsewhere, as well as fast-growing venture capital and private equity-backed startups. There are currently 800,000 US-based private companies covered on PrivCo's platform, with hundreds of new profiles, funding rounds and deals being added weekly.

Search individual companies or build company lists and download/export data by industry, size, location, and much more.
While 90% of major American business is made up of private companies, financial information on them is often not disclosed and incredibly difficult to find. With over a decade of experience, PrivCo aims to provide the most accurate US-based private company data available in the marketplace. Using a proprietary industry and keyword taxonomy, human-powered sourcing and insights, and AI-assisted algorithms, PrivCo provides unique financial data and insights that are unavailable elsewhere.
WRDS This link opens in a new window
WHARTON RESEARCH DATA SERVICES is a comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.
Select the Register tab or link “Register for a WRDS Account.”
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Open Access Datasets

The following data databases are openly accessible and you don't need to visit the library

Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
Statistical data on various countries
Re3dataorg
Global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
UNdata
single entry point for all the statistical databases of the United Nations.
more...less...
"Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
International Labour Organization (ILO)
Statistics and databases. Click on the links in this webpage to select from a variety of resources
Asia Regional Integration Center
"The Asia Regional Integration Center (ARIC) is an ongoing technical assistance project of the Economic Research and Regional Cooperation Department. Following the 1997/98 Asian financial crisis and the contagion evident around the region, ADB was asked to use its knowledge-based expertise to help monitor the recovery and report objectively on potential vulnerabilities and policy solutions. With the ASEAN+3 process just starting, ADB provided technical assistance beginning in 1999—to create the Asia Recovery Information Center, the precursor to ARIC."
Eurostat
the official page on statistics of the European Union. Categories include Economy and Finance, International Trade etc, which can be easily accessed from the homepage.
more...less...
"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions."
World DataBank
by The World Bank
more...less...
"DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them."
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Data from research papers - The above link will guide you to research data from papers dealing with the topics of Economic Behavior and Attitudes. You need to create an account to download free datasets. Explore the website for more datasets on a variety of social science issues.
Data.Gov
For USA data: "Data.gov is the federal government’s open data site, and aims to make government more open and accountable. Opening government data increases citizen participation in government, creates opportunities for economic development, and informs decision making in both the private and public sectors."

Economics: Data

Introduction

Datasets and Data Databases

Open Access Datasets

Programs

Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC)