Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Economics: Articles

Journals

Journals provides more scholarly and academic insights in your research. Try to get to know more economics-related journals through our Online Journal Finder.

Search for Articles

Search within the library electronic resources at the library portal. Watch this video to learn more.

Open Access Databases

IDEAS What is IDEAS? IDEAS the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,200,000 items of research, including over 2,000,000 that can be downloaded in full text. This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc, which includes bibliographic metadata from over 1,900 participating archives, including all the major publishers and research outlets. IDEAS is just one of several services that use RePEc data. Authors are invited to register with RePEc to create an online profile. Then, anyone finding some of their research here can find your latest contact details and a listing of their other research. They will also receive a monthly mailing about the popularity of their works, their ranking and newly found citations.
MPRA This repository is intended to disseminate research papers of economists who want to make their work freely available through the RePEc network but are not affiliated with any institution that provides that furtherance.
Political Economy - Marxist Internet Archive Contents: Classics of Political Economy Collection of writings by Political Economists from 1651 to 1936. Marx on Political Economy Principle writings of Karl Marx on political economy, 1844 - 1883. Political Economy after Marx Analysis, Criticism & Explanation of Marx's work on political economy. Basic Economics Glossary of Political Economy, from Encyclopedia of Marxism.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 89 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it. So far, over 1,800 archives from 89 countries have contributed about 2 million research pieces from 2,300 journals and 4,300 working paper series. About 48,000 authors have registered and 75,000 email subscriptions are served every week. See below on how you can be part of this initiative.

Library Databases

Here is a list of economics databases NU Library subscribes to. These databases contain articles, books, citations & abstracts and datasets. Always remember to login with your account in the library's portal. Check more related databases here.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
Searchable cited references date back to 1998 and include full-text coverage in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
Includes
- Harvard Business Review, written for upper-level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
- Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more. These sources bring the total records available in the database to more than 1.2 million.
JSTOR Archives Collection
Established in 1997, JSTOR is the largest provider of archived academic information. JSTOR provides a breadth of coverage across 50 disciplines, but what is even more important and rare is that it tries to have complete runs of journals, preserving journal pages exactly the way they looked when they were published. NU subscription includes ten collections with 1,358 titles and over 35,330,000 scanned pages in PDF format in the following collections: JStor Archive Collection Arts&Sciences Life sciences (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX)