Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Key databases for Education: Home

Education Library Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database has over 230000 full-text eBooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks and textbooks.
To download the eBook or its parts, Adobe Digital Edition or any other software suitable for the device is required (note: some titles are read online only). Create an account to access a personalized bookshelf where you can organize books that you read frequently, highlight text, and take notes.
- Learn how to use Ebook Central Academy
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The platform for one search through databases containing scholarly journals, eBooks, dissertations and theses, conference papers, videos, audio, reports and newspapers.
The resource contains ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global with 2.7 million searchable citations and 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format‎.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Over one hundred journals have PDF backfiles to 1975 or later, and searchable references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Coverage List

Explore library collections in our Primo:

Education in Central Asia by Denise Egéa (Editor)
Call Number: Floor 3 ; LA1381 .E38 2020
ISBN: 9783030501266
This book brings together internationally prominent scholars renowned for their work on post-Soviet republics, as well as outstanding emerging scholars native of Central Asia in order to discuss the state of education in the Central Asian Republics of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
Inclusive Education in a Post-Soviet Context by Tsediso Michael Makoelle (Editor); Michelle Somerton (Editor)
Call Number: Floor 3 ; LC1203.K3 I53 2021
ISBN: 9783030655426
This book provides the first evidence-based reference about inclusive education in Kazakhstan, one of the post-Soviet Union countries. This nation, as well as many other central Asian countries, is undergoing a radical transformation and change in education which encompasses the implementation of inclusive and special education. This book is composed of chapters synthesized from various studies and captures different aspects of the implementation of inclusive education in Kazakhstan.
The Education Debate by David Kirp; Kevin Macpherson
Call Number: Floor 3 ; LB1028 .K5165 2023
ISBN: 9780197531334
A compelling overview of the major debates in contemporary education policy.In statehouses, school boards, and communities across the US, battles are raging over the direction of education policy--from the standards that are shaping what students learn to how test results are being used to judge a teacher's performance.
The Performance of Asian Higher Education by Gwilym Croucher (Editor); Chuanyi Wang (Editor); Jiale Yang (Editor)
Call Number: Floor 3 ; LB2806.24 .P47 2023
ISBN: 9781032265827
With contributions from several Asia-Pacific countries, this book compares performance and productivity in higher education from the perspective of institutional change. Using multiple methods and datasets and including case studies from Australia, Cambodia, China, Malaysia, India and Japan, the authors focus on shedding light on the efficacy of institutional policies and reforms.
Developing and Evaluating Quality Bilingual Practices in Higher Education by Fernando D. Rubio-Alcalá (Editor); Do Coyle (Editor)
Call Number: Floor 3 ; LC3727 .D484 2021
ISBN: 9781788923682
This book provides an overview and evaluation of the quality of bilingual education found in internationalised higher education institutions. Its authors focus on the multifaceted roles that language(s) play in these growing multilingual spaces and analyse and identify the many factors that account for quality multilingual degree programmes.

Review of Educational Research
The Review of Educational Research publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues.
Educational Psychology Review
Educational Psychology Review is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed integrative review articles, special thematic issues, reflections or comments on previous research or new research directions, interviews, replications, and intervention articles - all pertaining to the field of educational psychology. All publications provide breadth of coverage appropriate to a wide readership in educational psychology and sufficient depth to inform specialists in that area.
Educational Researcher
Educational Researcher publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible. It is published nine times per year. ER encourages submissions of three types of research articles—feature articles, reviews/essays, and briefs. Technical comments may also be submitted. In addition, ER publishes commentary articles under the demarcations of policy forum, letters, and books et al.
Strategic Organization
Strategic Organization is devoted to publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed, discipline-grounded conceptual and empirical research of interest to researchers, teachers, students, and practitioners of strategic management and organization. The journal also aims to be of considerable interest to senior managers in government, industry, and particularly the growing management consulting industry. Strategic Organization provides an international, interdisciplinary forum designed to improve our understanding of the interrelated dynamics of strategic and organizational processes and outcomes.
Educational Research Review
Educational Research Review is an international journal addressed to researchers and various agencies interested in the review of studies and theoretical papers in education at any level. The journal accepts high quality articles that are solving educational research problems by using a review approach. This may include thematic or methodological reviews, or meta-analyses. The journal does not limit its scope to any age range. The journal invites articles on the broad range of settings in which people learn and are educated (school settings, corporate training, formal or informal settings, etc.).

These databases and platforms are useful if your topic is interdisciplinary

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a database for scientific literature, while Web of Knowledge is a research and citation database that lets you search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including an Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. Both can be accessed here, and good for general science use.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 4000 peer-reviewed Elsevier journals and more than 35,000 eBooks in a range of subjects, including engineering, sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
To access the resource register with your NU email.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks.
Campus+ This link opens in a new window
Campus is a place where you can learn, share and connect with colleagues at universities and colleges all over the world. It contains resources for academics and university staff on the following topics: academic teaching and learning, the internationalisation of higher education, progressing towards the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), improving equity, diversity and inclusion, research management, and supporting early career researchers.
This resource is included in Times Higher Education.

Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is a comprehensive online resource designed to support research across a variety of disciplines. It provides a range of materials and tools to assist researchers in the methodology and design of their studies. Key features include:

- Books and eBooks: Access to a wide selection of academic books covering research methods, theoretical frameworks, and practical guides.
- Reference Entries: Concise and authoritative entries on various research methodologies and techniques.
- Case Studies: Real-world examples demonstrating how research methods are applied in practice.
- Videos and Tutorials: Instructional content that provides insights into different research methods and their applications.
- Datasets and Tools: Resources for analyzing and interpreting data.

This platform is particularly useful for students, researchers, and academics who seek to deepen their understanding of research methods and improve their methodological skills.

What is a database?

A library database is a curated collection of information or data that can be systematically searched and accessed to find reliable academic resources. While some library databases specialize in academic journal articles (known as journal databases), others provide access to a wide array of research materials such as newspapers, magazines, ebooks, web resources, and multimedia content. While Library Search allows users to retrieve academic sources like peer-reviewed journal articles, searching a subject-specific database enables a focused exploration of academic literature directly relevant to your topic.

Nazarbayev University Library subscribes to over 200 databases. These include multi-disciplinary databases that cover various subjects, as well as subject-specific databases that concentrate on particular disciplines or related fields. The complete list of databases can be accessed via the library's A-Z Databases page, where recommended databases for Education are also listed.

Copyright for Educators

Copyright is significant because, as educators, we frequently utilize content produced by others and also generate content intended for others to use. When it comes to utilizing videos, images, or text that you didn't create yourself, understanding copyright, fair use, and Creative Commons licenses becomes essential.

Copyright is a type of intellectual property that protects original works of authorship as soon as an author fixes the work in a tangible form of expression. In copyright law, there are a lot of different types of works, including paintings, photographs, illustrations, musical compositions, sound recordings, computer programs, books, poems, blog posts, movies, architectural works, plays, and so much more!

“What is Copyright” U.S. Copyright Office

"Open Access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. What makes it possible is the internet and the consent of the author or copyright-holder." (quoted from A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access by Peter Suber)

The Open Access movement promotes the practice that scholarly publications are made available online without prohibitively high access costs and stringent copyright and licensing restrictions. It facilitates quicker and broader dissemination of knowledge by removing the price and permission barriers to research outcomes.

Advantages

Open Access is compatible with features of traditional publishing such as peer review, journal prestige, and researchers' career advancement.

Quicker publishing time
Enhanced discoverability through search engines
Increased readership
Increased citations (see SPARC Europe's list of studies about the citation advantage of open access)
Availability of download statistics

These books provide excellent introduction to open access:

Open Access by Peter Suber (This book is complemented by a Web site.)
Understanding Open Access: When, Why, & How to Make Your Work Openly Accessible by the Authors Alliance
Open Access and the Humanities: Contexts, Controversies and the Future by Martin Paul Eve

for more information: https://nu.kz.libguides.com/nuoa/home

Open licensing facilitates sharing by explicating permission to access, reuse, and re-distribute a copyrighted work with what (if any) restrictions. Creative Commons, a non-profit organization, has created six licenses for copyright holders to grant permission so that others can use their works under specified conditions:

for more information: https://nu.kz.libguides.com/nuoa/license

Fair use permits a party to use a copyrighted work without the copyright owner’s permission for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, or research. These purposes only illustrate what might be considered as fair use and are not examples of what will always be considered as fair use. In fact, there are no bright-line rules in determining fair use, since it is determined on a case-by-case basis. But copyright law does establish four factors that must be considered in deciding whether a use constitutes a fair use. These factors are:

The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for non-profit educational purposes;
The nature of the copyrighted work;
The amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and
The effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.

Source: https://copyrightalliance.org/education/copyright-law-explained/

Creative Commons is an international nonprofit organization that empowers people to grow and sustain the thriving commons of shared knowledge and culture we need to address the world's most pressing challenges and create a brighter future for all.

There are six types of Creative Commons License:

License Type
Attribution CC BY	This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation
Attribution ShareAlike CC BY-SA	This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms
Attribution-NoDerivs CC BY-ND	This license allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as it is passed along unchanged and in whole, with credit to you.
Attribution-NonCommercial CC BY-NC	This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike CC BY-NC-SA	This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms.
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC-ND	This license is the most restrictive of our six main licenses, only allowing others to download your works and share them with others as long as they credit you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially.

For more information: https://creativecommons.org/