Although high-quality information can be found through web search engines, library tools such as Primo Discovery and databases may help you find information sources more efficiently.
Please familiarise yourself with the Library website and learn how to navigate its features and functions
Primo Discovery is the Library's main search tool. It helps you find books on the shelves, subject readings, electronic resources like eJournals and eBooks and more. With Primo, you can easily access reliable books and articles to assist with your research projects and classroom assignments.
You can search for items by all fields (the default option), keywords, author, title, subject terms, publisher, ISBN/ISSN and call number.
Find Primo on the library website.
Please visit Primo Quick Start Guide to learn how to navigate and search Primo.
Note: While Primo offers many search options, it cannot replace subject databases. Primo is a good starting point if you do not know which database or directory to choose or when searching for multidisciplinary topics. For more specialized searches, we recommend our subject databases, found in our A-Z list of databases.
A library database is an electronic collection of information. NU Library subscribes to a number of databases across a variety of subject areas and topics you may study or research. Through the databases, you can access articles, eBooks, proceedings and other research material on your topic.
The types of information and information sources that are in databases include:
Find an A-Z list of databases via library website:
Search for a relevant database by Subject, type, or with the keyword.
However, Google Scholar helps to find relevant academic works across the web.
