Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Multimedia: Open Images, Audio, Video: Images

Tools & Stocks

CCSearch
Search many databases combined: Flickr and digitization projects like Europeana protected under a Creative Commons Licence.
Wikimedia (media files)
Over 27 million freely usable media files, including images, sounds, and videos. The highest quality items are ‘Featured’ by the site and appear in the picture of the day and picture of the year selections.
Flickr Commons
Repository for historical images from cultural heritage institutions such as libraries, museums, and archives. Most material has “no known copyright restrictions” and is free for noncommercial use (check licences).
Pixabay
CC0 Public Domain Dedication licenses release their images into the public domain. Medium resolution images can be downloaded without setting up an account, but you will need to set up and account for high-resolution downloads
Open - I
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Pexels
Free stock photos not licenced under a Creative Commons licence, so read the terms of use of the website. High resolution images can be downloaded with setting up an account.
Unsplash
Free images and photos not licenced under a Creative Commons licence, so read the terms of use of the website. High resolution images can be downloaded without setting up an account.
Public Domain Images
Varied categories including vintage photography and space images.
Reusable Art
For crafters and website designers. Old drawings, photos, and other illustrations that appeared in books, magazines and other periodicals out of copyright.
Freepic
Millions of Free Graphic Resources: Vectors, Stock Photos, PSD, Icons that you need for your creative projects.
GIPHY
Search engine in the endless library of GIFs.

Databases

World Digital Library
From libraries and archives around the world, digitized manuscripts, photographs, maps etc.
Europeana
Digitized works from European Union's members museums, archives and libraries
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Images, audio and video from the Library of Congress
Digital Public Library of America
Digitized books and images from the collections of libraries, museums and archives in the United states
Yale’s Digital Library of art and natural history
around 1.5 million works of art, natural history, books, maps, photographs, audio and video inclusive of the collections at Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Peabody Museum, Lewis Walpole Library and Yale Library Map Collection.
British Library Labs
The British Library is one of the largest libraries in the world and has a staggering range of materials such as books, periodicals, newspapers, maps, paintings, sheet music, stamps, audio and video recordings to name a few.
The Met (Metropolitan Museum)
200,000 images in the public domain under a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license (commercial use included)
Smithsonian Open Access
Nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian’s museums, research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Wellcome Collections (UK)
Thousands of scientific Creative Commons licensed images from one of the world's major resources for the study of medical history and contemporary medicine and biomedical science in society.
ARTstor Public Collections
About 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art and other world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
Google Art & Culture
Public access to high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums. Features content from over 1200 leading museums and archives.