Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Neuroscience: Articles

Finding Articles

'Academic' or 'scholarly' articles are available from subscription and open source journals and websites. In the library portal you can access articles by selecting from Articles, Journals, Databases or Repository tabs, then searching for your topic.

Below are some recommended Journals and Databases, but there are many resources beyond these titles you can also explore. When you hover over each title with the mouse, you will see a brief description.

If you need help at any stage of your research, you are welcome to contact us through email, chat, Ask-A-Librarian, or make an appointment for a consultation.

Journals

Brain Research
more...less...
Brain Research publishes papers reporting interdisciplinary investigations of nervous system structure and function that are of general interest to the international community of neuroscientists.
European Journal of Neuroscience
Frontiers in Neuroscience
Journal of Molecular Neuroscience
Journal of Neuroscience
Journal of Neuroscience Research
more...less...
The journal focuses on uncovering the intricacies of brain structure and function. Research published in JNR covers all species from invertebrates to humans, and the reports inform the readers about the function and organization of the nervous system, with emphasis on how disease modifies the function and organization.

NR publishes primary research articles, technical reports, critical reviews, commentaries, or letters to the editor, which offer expert insight into cutting edge research in the neuroscience community.
Nature Neuroscience
Neuron
Neuropharmacology
Neuroscience
Neuroscience Letters

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 4000 peer-reviewed Elsevier journals in a range of subjects, including engineering, sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
To access articles please register with your NU e-mail.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a database for scientific literature, while Web of Knowledge is a research and citation database that lets you search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including an Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. Both can be accessed here, and good for general science use.