Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nazarbayev University Repository: NUR Policies

Nazarbayev University Open Access Policy

This policy sets out Nazarbayev University's framework (further - the "University") for ensuring that publications authored by University researchers, faculty members, students and staff, are made Open Access (further - the "OA"), where applicable (further - the "Policy").

As a leading research institution, the University places a high value on the research conducted under its auspices, whether this is produced alone or in collaboration with others. The University recognizes that the different types of output resulting from this research are key assets and should be recorded, managed, and disseminated by the University in a way that brings the most benefit for its individual researchers, for the University itself and for the global community in accordance with the mission in the Nazarbayev University Charter. Thus, the University is committed to making research outputs openly accessible via the Nazarbayev University Repository (further - the "Institutional repository") at the earliest opportunity to maximize the visibility and impact of research, recognizing that there will be instances where ethical, copyright or contractual restrictions apply.

Download OA Policy

Definitions for terms, outlined below, are marked with an asterisk in the Policy.

Author - is a university member (researcher, faculty member, student (postgraduate, graduate and undergraduate) and staff affiliated with the Nazarbayev University, which submits scholarly materials to the Institutional repository

Open Access - the free, immediate, online availability of research materials coupled with the rights to use these materials fully in the digital environment. OA ensures that anyone can access and use these results to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives.

Nazarbayev University Repository - an institutional electronic archive for accumulation, long-term storage, and provision of open access* to scientific research results produced by the academic community of the University.

Green OA - self-archiving in an institutional or disciplinary repository.

Gold OA - freely available in a journal (paid and unpaid), e.g. publishing in an open access journal, paying or not paying.

Postprint - an article which has undergone peer-review and been revised accordingly. Also known as the accepted author manuscript.

Preprint - the Author's* original manuscript, which has been submitted to a journal. It has not been peer-reviewed, copy-edited, or formatted with page numbers or branded by the journal.

Research data - any information that has been collected, observed, generated or created to validate original research findings.

Request a Copy Feature - a mechanism in the Nazarbayev University Repository* whereby if an item is not freely available to a reader they can send a request to the Author* via the Nazarbayev University Repository for a copy of the work held in the repository.

This Policy applies to all Authors affiliated with the University.

The following research outputs should deposited and made publicly available in the institutional repository:

  1. The publisher's version of articles if not restricted by copyright policy of the publisher;
  2. Postprint* or preprint* articles in case the publisher's version is restricted to deposit;
  3. Dissertations, theses, capstone projects;
  4. Books, book chapters, monographs, reports and working papers;
  5. Conference proceedings;
  6. Image, video and audio representations of creative works;
  7. The bibliographic metadata of all forms of published output;
  8. Other scholarly outputs (i.e. creative writings, published essays, newspaper articles, etc.);
  9. Other forms of intellectual creations (i.e. works of art, musical compositions, poems, novels, etc.).

Responsibilities of the University Research Administration:

  1. To confirm funding agencies' OA requirements for depositing publications in Institutional repositories.

Responsibilities of the Library:

  1. To provide the institutional repository system for collecting, preserving and disseminating University research outputs.
  2. To organize presentations and training sessions for the Author*, as well as provide system user guides to assist in using the Institutional repository.
  3. To provide an assisted-archiving, if necessary, for the Author* who experience difficulties when uploading materials or have other valid reasons restricting the use of the institutional repository system.
  4. To ensure the long-term preservation of publications in the Institutional repository and maintain the institutional repository system accordingly.
  5. To provide timely reports of deposited and published outputs in an annual library reports for the University Administration.
  6. To facilitate the 'request a copy' feature* in the Institutional repository for papers that cannot be made freely available due to copyright or other restrictions.

Responsibilities of the Authors*:

  1. To follow the principles of this Policy in order to maximize the accuracy, timeliness, and quality of research outputs.
  2. To deposit all appropriate research outputs (see Clause 7) to the Institutional repository in accordance with funders' requirements and respecting the copyright terms and conditions of publishers. The deposit should take place via http://nur.nu.edu.kz/.
  3. As part of depositing process, Authors* should sign a License Agreement granting permission to publish their research output in the Institutional repository, either hard or electronic copy.
  4. In case Authors* have valid reasons not to publish their work in the Institutional repository, they are allowed to set an embargo on the research material for some period. Once the imposed embargo expires the research material will automatically be visible and available for download to the general public.
  5. To ensure that they have cleared the rights that any third parties may hold in a work (e.g. copyright of co-authors), before depositing that work or allowing another person to deposit that work on their behalf, in the Institutional repository.
  6. To ensure their papers are published with the correct license according to their funders' requirements and publisher's policy.
  7. To make their best effort to reply to any 'request a copy' communications and keep their contact details up to date with the Library, especially if one of their outputs is archived in the Institutional repository but not freely available.

To meet these Policy objectives, the Author agrees to grant to the University a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free right to use their research outputs upon depositing or authorizing the deposit of works in the Institutional repository in accordance with the terms of Creative Commons License and License Agreement.

Types of licenses:

Creative Commons license - one of the existing copyright licensing systems that enable the free distribution of an otherwise copyrighted work. Authors* choose a set of the following conditions they wish to apply to their work:

BY (Attribution)

Licensees may copy, distribute, display and perform the work and make derivative works and remixes based on it only if they give the Author* or licensor the credits.

SA (Share Alike)

Licensees may distribute derivative works only under a license identical ("not more restrictive") to the license that governs the original work. NC (Non-Commercial)

Licensees may copy, distribute, display, perform, (unless you have chosen No Derivatives) modify and use the work for any purpose other than commercially unless they get the Author's* permission first.

ND (No Derivatives)

Licensees may copy, distribute, display and perform only original copies of the work. If they want to modify the work, they must get the author's permission first.

License Agreement - agreement between University and the Author*, where the Author* grants to the University the rights to use and publish research outputs in Institutional repository in OA, if it is applicable.

Nazarbayev University Repository Policy

For information describing items in the repository.

  1. Anyone may access the metadata free of charge
  2. The metadata may be re-used in any medium without prior permission for not-for-profit purposes and re-sold commercially provided:
    • the OAI Identifier or a link to the original metadata record are given
    • Nazarbayev University Repository is mentioned

For types of document & data set held.

  1. This is an institutional or departmental repository.
  2. Nazarbayev University Repository holds all types of materials.
  3. Deposited items may include:
    • working drafts
    • submitted versions (as sent to journals for peer-review)
    • accepted versions (author's final peer-reviewed drafts)
    • published versions (publisher-created files)
  4. Items are individually tagged with:
    • their version type and date.
    • their peer-review status.
    • their publication status.
  5. Principal Languages: English, Russian, and Kazakh​

For full-text and other full data items.

  1. Anyone may access full items free of charge.
  2. Copies of full items generally can be:
    • displayed or performed, and given to third parties
    • for personal research or study, educational, or not-for-profit purposes without prior permission or charge provided:
      • the authors, title and full bibliographic details are given
      • a hyperlink and/or URL are given for the original metadata page
      • the content is not changed in any way
  1. Full items must not be sold commercially in any format or medium without formal permission of the copyright holders.
  2. This repository is not the publisher; it is merely the online archive.​
  1. Items will be retained indefinitely.
  2. Nazarbayev University Repository will try to ensure continued readability and accessibility.
    • Items will be migrated to new file formats where necessary.
    • Where possible, software emulations will be provided to access un-migrated formats.
    • It may not be possible to guarantee the readability of some unusual file formats.
  3. Nazarbayev University Repository regularly backs up its files according to current best practice.
  4. The original bitstream is retained for all items, in addition to any upgraded formats.
  5. Items may not normally be removed from Nazarbayev University Repository.
  6. Acceptable reasons for withdrawal include:
    • Journal publishers' rules
    • Proven copyright violation or plagiarism
    • Legal requirements and proven violations
    • National Security
    • Falsified research
  7. Withdrawn items are not deleted per se, but are removed from public view.
  8. Withdrawn items' identifiers/URLs are retained indefinitely.
  9. URLs will continue to point to 'tombstone' citations, to avoid broken links and to retain item histories, with:
    • a link to a replacement version, where available
    • a note explaining the reasons for withdrawal
  10. The metadata of withdrawn items will not be searchable.
  11. Changes to deposited items are not permitted.
  12. Errata and corrigenda lists may be included with the original record if required.
  13. If necessary, an updated version may be deposited.
    • The earlier version may be withdrawn from public view.
    • The item's persistent URL will always link to the latest version.
    • There will be links between earlier and later versions, with the most recent version clearly identified.
  14. In the event of Nazarbayev University Repository being closed down, the database will be transferred to another appropriate archive.

Concerning depositors, quality & copyright.

  1. Items may only be deposited by accredited members, academic staff, registered students, and employees of the institution, or their delegated agents.
  2. Authors may only submit their own work for archiving.
  3. Eligible depositors must deposit bibliographic metadata for all their publications.
  4. Eligible depositors must deposit full texts of all their publications, although they may delay making them publicly visible to comply with publishers' embargos.
  5. The administrator only vets items for the eligibility of authors/depositors, relevance to the scope of Nazarbayev University Repository, valid layout & format, and the exclusion of spam
  6. The validity and authenticity of the content of submissions is the sole responsibility of the depositor.
  7. Items can be deposited at any time, but will not be made publicly visible until any publishers' or funders' embargo period has expired.
  8. Any copyright violations are entirely the responsibility of the authors/depositors.
  9. If Nazarbayev University Repository receives proof of copyright violation, the relevant item will be removed immediately.

THE UN SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS 

The Sustainable Development Goals of the UN 2030 Agenda – also known as the Transforming our world were adopted in September 2015 with a framework of  17 Goals and 169 targets. The intent of the goals is to be as comprehensive as possible to be all-inclusive ensuring that no one is left behind.

In the context of the UN 2030 Agenda, increasing access to information and knowledge across society, assisted by the availability of information and communications technologies (ICTs), supports sustainable development and improves people’s lives.

Access to information and libraries as institutions that deliver it are key to achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Open Access initiatives contribute to the SDGs  via access to research and data which is stored in repositories.

• Access to research and data 

• Facilitate learning 

• Access to research and data 

• Access latest technical information 

• Facilitate learning 

• Access to most recent findings in health and medical journals, both for technical information as well as support in the development of appropriate policies and strategies 

• Access to research and data 

• Facilitate learning 

• Access to information to broaden and deepen the discussion 

• Information for policy development of gender-related issues 

• Access to research and data for policy development and project formulation 

• Access to research and data for policy development and project formulation 

• Access to research and data in support of commercial development 

• Access to research and data for government policy 

• Access to research and learn 

• Access to research and data for policy and strategy development 

• Access latest technical information 

• Access to research and data irrespective of geographical location and financial status for equitable access 

• Access to research and data for cultural and social awareness 

• Access to research and data to enhance awareness of issues and foster discussion 

• Access to information to inform policymakers 

• Access to information for project formulation and mitigation strategies 

• Access to research and data to enhance awareness of issues and foster discussion 

• Access to information to inform policymakers 

• Access to information for project formulation and mitigation strategies 

• Access to research and data to enhance awareness of issues and foster discussion 

• Access to information to inform policymakers 

• Access to information for project formulation and mitigation strategies 

• Access to research and data to enhance awareness of issues and foster discussion 

• Access to information to inform policymakers 

• Access to information for project formulation and mitigation strategies 

• Access to research and data for awareness and discussion for transparent reporting on government-funded projects 

• Access to research and data for training and skill development 

• Access to research and data for awareness and discussion for transparent reporting on government-funded projects 

• Access to research and data for training and skill development 

• OA repositories in support of local initiatives 

• Sharing research and data that reflects collaboration and partnerships for sustainable development, local, national and international 

Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Telegram E-mail