Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Library Resources

Introduction to Sociology and Useful Information and Links

Introduction to Sociology

What Is Sociology?

Sociology, in the broadest sense, is the study of society. Sociology is a very broad discipline that examines how humans interact with each other and how human behavior is shaped by social structures (groups, communities, organizations), social categories (age, sex, class, race, etc.), and social institutions (politics, religion, education, etc.). The basic foundation of sociology is the belief that a person's attitudes, actions, and opportunities are shaped by all of these aspects of society. The sociological perspective is fourfold: Individuals belong to groups; groups influence our behavior; groups take on characteristics that are independent of their members (i.e. the whole is greater than the sum of its parts); and sociologists focus on behavior patterns of groups, such as differences based on sex, race, age, class, etc.

Sociology is a very broad and diverse field. There are many different topics and scopes in the field of sociology, some of which are relatively new. The following are some of the major areas of research and application within the field of sociology.

Explore Areas Of Sociology: Thought.Co at https://www.thoughtco.com/what-is-sociology-3026639

Reference Sources

What are reference sources? 

When you start researching on a topic begin from encyclopedias, handbooks and important monographs. Usually this type of information sources summarize the subject and can give you a general idea of important developments, authors and ideas. They are also useful as they provide other sources your can consult to dive deeper into a subject in their reference or bibliography lists.

Print Reference Sources

Here are some reference sources you can find on the library's shelves. Note down the Call Number to locate the book easily. Ask a librarian if you have trouble finding it.

Check out the Library Catalogue for hard copies of the library collection.

Books and E-Books

Sociology are located in the Library 2nd floor, within the section HM.

 Check out the Library Catalogue for hard copies of the library collection.

Check out the Databases below for e-book collection of the Library.

Checkout the full list of our ebooks databases here, your might discover an ebook in an unexpected place!

Journals and Databases

Look up the full list of journals by clicking HERE

Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Telegram E-mail