Christianity is said to be one of the world religions with most followers with a membership of almost one-third of the world population. The organized church is headed by a priest, a bishop, and a number of ‘patriarchs’ (highest office of leadership) ("Christianity", 2005). They practice some doctrines including Doctrine of Trinity as well as some feasts and festivals that surrounds the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
This guide will highlight some available materials on Christianity such as books, journals, websites, and other relevant links.
This book brings the theme of prayer into anthropological discussion. Across diverse significant ethnographic case studies, five anthropologists attend to prayers and how they are performed and seen to intervene in the social world.
This book explores the intersection of conservative Christian values and contemporary theories and expressions of gender identity, i.e. transgender and genderqueer identities. More specifically, it examines the conflict between beliefs about religious liberty and transgender rights. It also proposes a pluralistic morality, allowing for both faith-based values and scientific discoveries about gender to resolve that conflict.
Long the dominant religion of the West, Christianity is now rapidly becoming the principal faith in much of the postcolonial world--a development that marks a momentous shift in the religion's very center of gravity. In this eye-opening book, Lamin Sanneh examines the roots of this"post-Western awakening" and the unparalleled richness and diversity, as well as the tension and conflict, it has brought to World Christianity.
Now available in paperback, this Companion offers an unparalleled survey of the history, theology, doctrine, worship, art, culture and politics that make up the churches of Eastern Christianity. Covers both Byzantine traditions (such as the Greek, Russian and Georgian churches) and Oriental traditions (such as the Armenian, Coptic and Syrian churches).
Exploring how Christianity became a world religion, this brief history examines Christian missions and their relationship to the current globalization of Christianity. A short and enlightening history of Christian missions: a phenomenon that many say reflects the single most important intercultural movement over a sustained period of human history.
Established in 1997, JSTOR is the largest provider of archived academic information. JSTOR provides a breadth of coverage across 50 disciplines, but what is even more important and rare is that it tries to have complete runs of journals, preserving journal pages exactly the way they looked when they were published. NU subscription includes ten collections with 1,358 titles and over 35,330,000 scanned pages in PDF format in the following collections: JStor Archive Collection Arts&Sciences Life sciences (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX)
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly-expanding research library, and has grown to be one of the leading academic research resources in the world. Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
This multidisciplinary database has over 230000 full-text eBooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks and textbooks.
To download the eBook or its parts, Adobe Digital Edition or any other software suitable for the device is required (note: some titles are read online only). Create an account to access a personalized bookshelf where you can organize books that you read frequently, highlight text, and take notes.
Feldtkeller, A. (2005). Christianity. In K. Von Stuckrad (Ed.), The Brill Dictionary of Religion (2nd ed.). Brill. Credo Reference: http://p2048-ezproxy.library.nu.edu.kz.ezproxy.nu.edu.kz/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/brilldr/christianity/0?institutionId=7630
