Nazarbayev University LibGuides: World Religions: Islam

What's on the shelves?

The Death of a Prophet

The oldest Islamic biography of Muhammad, written in the mid-eighth century, relates that the prophet died at Medina in 632, while earlier and more numerous Jewish, Christian, Samaritan, and even Islamic sources indicate that Muhammad survived to lead the conquest of Palestine, beginning in 634-35. Although this discrepancy has been known for several decades, Stephen J. Shoemaker here writes the first systematic study of the various traditions.

Global Islam: a Very Short Introduction

This book presents the first comprehensive survey of the multiple versions of Islam propagated across geographical, political, and cultural boundaries during the era of modern globalization. Showing how Islam was transformed through these globalizing transfers, it traces the origins, expansion and increasing diversification of Global Islam - from individual activists to organizations and then states - over the past 150 years. This Very Short Introduction will help readers to recognize and compare the various organizations competing to claim the authenticity and authority of representing the one true Islam.

Practicing Islam

David W. Montgomery presents a rich ethnographic study on the practice and meaning of Islamic life in Kyrgyzstan. As he shows, becoming and being a Muslim are based on knowledge acquired from the surrounding environment, enabled through the practice of doing. Through these acts, Islam is imbued in both the individual and the community. To Montgomery, religious practice and lived experience combine to create an ideological space that is shaped by events, opportunities, and potentialities that form the context from which knowing emerges.

Muslims of Central Asia

Between the tenth and sixteenth centuries Central Asia was one of the most prestigious cultural areas of the entire Muslim world, playing a pivotal role in the Silk Road trade. Throughout that history, and up to the present, Tajiks, Uzbeks, Kazakhs, Kyrgyz, Turkmen and other Muslim peoples of Central Asia have developed their own unique understanding and practice of Islam which has shaped their national identity and particular social and political evolution. These special characteristics of Central Asian Islam ensured its survival during seventy years of Soviet atheist rule, while in the post-Soviet period Islam has been integrated into nation-building projects in constitutionally secular Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkmenistan.

Islam in America

A valuable resource for readers interested in the role of Islam in contemporary U. S. politics and society, this first-of-its kind reference synthesizes Islamic teachings, the example of Prophet Muhammad, and the vision of the Founding Fathers. Islam is the most misunderstood and misrepresented religious tradition in the United States, depicted as an oppressive and violent political system and its followers as backward and "un-American." The stereotypes about Islam and Muslims in the U.S. calls for a new sociological understanding that confronts the menacing bigotry and racism rising in the U.S. today.

Journals

Arabica
Focuses on multidisciplinary studies of ancient and contemporary problems concerning Arabic societies. Each issue contains a bulletin providing comprehensive information on the scholarly production and news of the world of the Arabists.
Australian Journal of Islamic Studies
The Australian Journal of Islamic Studies is an open access, double-blind peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scholarly study of Islam and Muslims.
International Journal of Islamic Studies and Humanities
IJISH is a refereed journal published by Universitas Ahmad Dahlan.The main objective of the publication is to create a platform to publish original articles, researches results, case studies, and book reviews related to the field of Islamic Studies.
Journal of Islamic Studies
The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world.
Journal of Shi'a Islamic Studies
The Journal of Shi‘a Islamic Studies (JSIS) is a refereed academic journal published quarterly by ICAS Press for the Islamic College in London. The journal provides an international forum for scholars through the publication of research articles in all fields of Shi‘a studies, from the historical to the contemporary and from the theological to the philosophical.

Relevant Links

IslamiCity
Launched in February 1995. IslamiCity provides a non-sectarian, comprehensive and holistic view of Islam and Muslims.
MuslimMatters
Muslimmatters.org is an online magazine which began in 2007 as a collaboration between various bloggers and Shuyukh in order to bring attention to issues faced by Muslims, especially in the West.
The Religion of Islam
This website is for people of various faiths who seek to understand Islam and Muslims. It contains a lot of brief, yet informative articles about different aspects of Islam.

Ebooks

Bunt, G. R. (2003). Islam in the digital age : E-jihad, online fatwas and cyber islamic environments. Pluto Press.
Many Muslims in majority and minority contexts rely on the Internet as a primary source of news, information and communication about Islam. As a result, a new media culture is emerging which is having a significant impact on areas of global Muslim consciousness.
Dakake, M. M. (2007). The charismatic community : Shi'ite identity in early Islam. State University of New York Press.
The book reveals the profound and continually evolving connection between the spiritual ideals of the Shiite movement and the practical processes of community formation.
Kadir, S. (2007). Islam explained. Marshall Cavendish International (Asia) Private Limited.
This book explores the fundamental beliefs of Islam from its conception to the practices of its adherents. Presented in a simple and concise way, it explains the different aspects of the faith in topical form, with numerous quotations provided from the Quran and the Hadith.
Kuyper, A. (2018). On Islam. Lexham Press.
Part travelogue, part cultural critique, On Islam presents a European imperialist seeing firsthand the damage colonialism had caused and the value of a religion he had never truly understood. Here, Kuyper's doctrine of common grace shines as he displays a nuanced and respectful understanding of the Muslim world.

Databases

Cambridge eBooks
More than 2,500 eBooks from Cambridge University Press. Subject areas include: English language learning and teaching, History, Sociology, Medicine, Physics, Math, and many more.
JSTOR Archives Collection
Established in 1997, JSTOR is the largest provider of archived academic information. JSTOR provides both breadth of coverage spanning across 50 disciplines but what is even more important and rare, it tries to have complete runs of journals preserving journal pages exactly the way they looked when they were published.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding research library, and has grown to be one of the leading academic research resources in the world.
Ebook Central Academic Complete
This is a multidisciplinary database with full-text books.

World Religions: Islam

Introduction

What's on the shelves?

Journals

Relevant Links

Ebooks

Databases

Reference