Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Eurasian Academic Libraries Conference - 2021: Program

Eurasian Academic Libraries Conference 2021

(Virtual Conference)

June 29-30, 2021

Program (Updated June 23, 2021)

June 28 (Monday) | Pre-conference Day

10AM - 11AM

2PM - 3PM

Zoom training: what you need to know

about Zoom control toolbar

Rustam Toigambayev

Alexandre Andryukov

Facility Committee EALC-2021

June 29 (Tuesday, Day 1) | 10:00AM - 3:30PM

9:30AM - 10:00AM

Online Check-In

Registration Committee

 
Opening Ceremony | Moderator: Joseph Yap
10:00AM - 10:10AM Welcome Remarks

Assemgul Temirkhanova

Acting Director,

Nazarbayev University Library

10:10AM - 10:15AM Inspirational Message

Ilesanmi Adesida

Provost 

Nazarbayev University

10:15AM - 10:20AM Opening Remarks

Tendik Yermekpayeva

Chair, Steering Committee EALC 2021

Nazarbayev University Library

10:20AM - 10:25AM Welcome Message

Gulzhan Irzhanova

President, Association of University Libraries in the Republic of Kazakhstan

10:25AM - 10:30AM

Mechanics of the Conference / House Rules

Program Committee
10:30AM - 10:50AM Keynote Speech
 

Why RDA? Organizing Bibliographic Information in the 21st Century

Christine Oliver

Chair, RDA Board

Head, Metadata and Processing, University of Ottawa Library

10:50AM - 11:00AM

Open Forum | Moderator: Joseph Yap

11:00AM - 11:15AM Supporting the full research cycle at your institution with Wiley content and services

Sergey Paramonov, PhD

Senior Account Manager Russia and CIS

Wiley

11:15AM - 11:40PM

11:40AM-12:15PM

Break

Musical Performance from Nurali and Galamat Beisekozha

 

Session1: Bibliography | Moderator: Balaussa Bilalova

12:15PM - 12.20PM [Technical Set-up / Switching language channels]
12:20PM - 12:35PM

The Support of Pedagogical Science and Education by Scientific Information Resources: Experience of the Republican Scientific and Pedagogical  Library of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Aliya Saidembayeva

Director of the Republican Scientific and Pedagogical Library of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Almaty, Kazakhstan

12:35PM - 12:45PM Open Forum  
12:45PM - 12:50PM [Technical Set-up / Switching language channels]
12:50PM - 1:05PM National Bibliographies and National Bibliographic Metadata in the Age of Mass Information

Mathilde Koskas

Head of French National Bibliography/Books 

Bibliothèque Nationale de France

Chair of the Bibliography Section Standing Committee

1:05PM - 1:15PM Open Forum  
1:15PM - 1:30PM Innovative Resources: Actualization of content and development trends

Assel Zharassova

Regional Manager

Mikro Information Handling & Distribution FZE

1:30PM - 1:40PM

1:40PM - 1:45PM

Health Break

Opening Doors to Discovery 

 

Springer Nature

Session 2: Cataloguing and Collection Policies and Practices | Moderator: Lazzat Arystanova

1:45PM - 2:00PM Integrating and Leveraging Metadata In a Shared Environment: The University of Macau Experience

Priscilla Pun

Head of Technical Process Unit,

University of Macau Library, CATS Corresponding Member

Macau, China

2:00PM - 2:15PM

Resource Description and Organization: The Case of an Academic Library in the Philippines

Ana Maria Fresnido

Archives Librarian, 

De La Salle University Libraries,

Manila, Philippines 

2:15PM - 2:30PM Open Forum  

Session 3: Metadata Librarianship | Moderator: Darya Zvonareva

2:30PM - 2:45PM Implementing BIBFRAME in a Pilot Project at the Yale University Library

Timothy Thompson

Librarian for Applied Metadata Research,

Yale University Library,

New Haven, Connecticut, USA

2:45PM - 3:00PM Official or Original: Implementing Resource Description and Access (RDA) in Academic Libraries after the 3R Project

Mark Anthony Santos

Assistant Professor, 

School of Library and Information Studies, University of the Philippines

3:00PM - 3:15PM Open Forum  
3:15PM - 3:30 PM

Closing remarks for Day 1 / House rules / Reminders for Day 2

June 30, 2021 (Wednesday, Day 2) | 10:00AM - 2:30PM

9:30AM - 10:00AM

Online Check-In

Admission of Participants
Registration Committee

Session 4: Digital Humanities Analytics | Moderator: Symbat Abu

10:00AM - 10:15AM Documentation of Endangered Languages as Contemporary Preserving Practice of Intangible Heritage in Eurasia

Dr. Andrey Y. Filchenko

Chair of Department of Languages, Linguistics and Literatures,

Nazarbayev University

10:15AM - 10:30AM Open Forum  
10:30AM - 10:45AM

The power of data for Research in Sustainable Development Goals

Rabiga Khozhamkul

Elsevier

10:45AM - 11:45PM

Session 5: Digital Collections and Curation

Moderator: April Manabat

10:45AM - 11:00AM

Making the Invisible Visible:  Digital Collections and Curation at National University of Singapore Libraries

Lee Cheng Ean

University Librarian, 

National University of Singapore Library

11:00AM - 11:15AM

Rare Ephemera from Both Sides: A Digital Collections and Curation Case Study of Russia (the Soviet Union) and Asia

George Andrew Spencer

Distinguished Bibliographer for Slavic, East European, Central Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies,

University of Wisconsin Madison, USA

11:15AM - 11:30AM Open Forum  
11:30AM - 11:45AM

Discover Taylor & Francis Content

Gloria Borghetti 

Journals T&F 

Nuno Cravo

Ebooks T&F

Taylor & Francis Group

11:45AM - 12:05PM

12:05AM - 12:45PM

Break

Yoga / Meditation Session with Laura Aldungar

Session 6: COVID-19 Impact on Information Organization | Moderator: Dinmukhamed Kopmagambetov

12:45PM - 1:00PM

COVID-19: Impacts on Information

Organization, Transmission, and Use

Raymond Abruzzi

Publisher, Wiley Digital Archives

Contributing Scholar, Columbia University Center for Science and Society

1:00PM - 1:15PM

COVID-19 Impact on Information Organization: Delivering Information and Library Services During a Pandemic

Lesley Moyo

Associate University Librarian for Public Services,

University of Wisconsin Madison, USA

1:15PM - 1:30PM Open Forum  
1:30PM - 1:50PM

Closing Keynote Speech

  Metadata Directions

Lorcan Dempsey

OCLC Vice President, Membership and Research, Chief Strategist, OCLC

1:50PM - 2:00PM

Open Forum | Moderator: Piotr Lapo

 
Closing Ceremony
2:00PM - 2:30PM

Closing Ceremony

Moderator: Joseph Yap

 
2:00PM - 2:20PM Awarding of Certificates

Joseph Yap

Reference Librarian

Nazarbayev University Library

2:20PM - 2:25PM Closing Remarks

April Manabat

Program Chair, EALC 2021

Nazarbayev University Library

2:25PM - 2:30PM

Other announcements

End of Program

Joseph Yap

 

Reference Librarian

Nazarbayev University Library

Keynote Speakers

 

Christine Oliver

Christine Oliver

Lorcan Dempsey

Lorcan Dempsey

Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Telegram E-mail