Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Communication and Composition: Articles

Introduction

There are two ways to search for electronic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, reports and other types of sources:

You can do a general search in the library's homepage under the "E-resources" button. This way you are searching all the databases NU library is subscribing to. Subsequently you can filter according to subject, date, type of source etc. to focus your results.
You can search in a subject database related to your topic. The results will be more specific but you might miss out some relevant results that might be part of other subject databases.

Databases

Some recommended databases useful for Communication and Composition students:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window This is a subject specific database targeted to communication and media students and researchers.
JSTOR Archives Collection This link opens in a new window A more general database where you can find articles on a variety of subjects
We have access to the following collections: JStor Archive Collection Arts&Sciences Life sciences (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX)
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Designed for public libraries, contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Searchable together with other EbscoHost databases. For general use.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Coverage List:
https://www.ebscohost.com/titleLists/aph-journals.htm

To find the full list of all the subject specific databases NU library subscribes to click here

EBSCO Discovery Service

To search the entire e-resources collection of the library, click on the tab "E-resources" on the first page of the library's portal and enter your keywords

Some basic tips on searching:

Use the boolean operators OR, NOT to broaden or narrow your search respectively
Use quotation marks ("an example") around two or more keywords to conduct a phrase search

Alternatively, click on this link to access the e-resources interface.

Watch the following tutorial for a brief overview on how to conduct a search EDS:

For more advanced tips on how to search effectively, visit EBSCO libguide

Open Access Databases

CompPile The purpose of CompPile is to allow ready reference to the published twentieth-century work in post-secondary composition and rhetoric, from the beginning of WWII to the end of the century.
more...less...
Coverage CompPile's focus is on post-secondary writing (not speaking or conversing). It integrates journal articles, review-essays, notes and comments, books, dissertations, ERIC items, and edited collections. It does not systematically cover textbooks, how-to books, conference notices, editor's forwards, or reviews of single works.
WAC Clearinghouse Journals The WAC Clearinghouse provides access to the following scholarly journals. All articles in the journals are available in open-access formats. You do not need to subscribe to our journals to view them. To learn more about individual journals, please view their main pages.

Search the DOAJ for quality articles from open access journals

Google Scholar

To cast a wider net, try Google Scholar Search. Checkout our useful guide on how to make best use of Google Scholar and Google search