Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Library Orientation: Welcome

About this Guide

This guide is an overview of the resources and services we offer and complements the Library Orientations that are held at the beginning of each semester.

You can find the dates of the online sessions and on-site tours in the library calendar.

Use the tabs above to navigate and explore NU Library:

Find and Borrow tab to see what resources are available and how to use them.
Services tab for information about instruction and research and studying support.
Teaching Support tab for curriculum-related questions.
Recorded Orientation Sessions in case if you missed a live presentation.

Get Started with Key Features

The Library website is the first place to go for information about NU Library services and to access online resources:

Contacts, Hours, Policies, Staff, Programs
News & events
Primo Discovery & online databases
Room reservation
Your Subject Librarian
Online chat & appointments, FAQ.

Primo Discovery

Search for articles, ebooks, journals, newspapers, and multimedia in Library subscribed databases and selected open access sources.
Links to the full text.
Citation tool.
Course reserves (textbooks, books for the courses)
Personal account to check your loans, renew, reserve the books and get access to electronic resources.

Nazarbayev University Repository (NUR):

open-access archive;
research results and intellectual products of Nazarbayev University: articles, theses, books, and conference materials;
visible across the world.

To learn more about publishing policies and procedures, please visit NUR LibGuid e or contact us at nur.nu.edu.kz

The library creates guides with instructions and resources for research or study-related subjects.

Browse by subject, course or search with keywords.
Find out what databases and books are most useful.
Develop research and study skills.

If you need help with research or using the library, choose one of the ways to contact us through Ask NURIA

Chat with a Librarian - find chat with NURIA feature on every page on the library website, LibGuides, Primo or A-Z Databases page
Send email to your Subject Librarian
Request for assistance through video consultations or in-person consultation
FAQ to find answers to your questions during off-hours.

A personal Subject Librarian will help you with your research and course needs in the specific subject or discipline:

answer reference and research questions,
provide in-depth research assistance in the subject areas,
teach how to use Library resources,
purchase new materials for Library collections and more.
course reserves.

Get to know your librarians and make use of our knowledge and services!

Since 2015, the Library in the School of Medicine has supported the research, instructional, clinical, and patient care interests of faculty, students, and staff.

The rich collection includes materials in the basic and clinical biomedical sciences in English and Russian languages.

You are welcome to visit or request a book delivery service to the NU Main Library.