Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Patents and Patent Searching: Searching for Patents

This guide provides the general information on patents and lists useful links for patent searching.

Why Search Patents?

Searching for patents allow you to: 

  • Find information for a project you are working on;
  • Find collaborators working in your area of interest;
  • Identify key resources (articles, reports, patents, etc.) for your project. 

Patent and Trademark Offices

 

National Institute of Intellectual Property of the Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Kazakhstan (NIIP) is an organization that fulfills expert functions of the patent office in Kazakhstan. 

 

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation. It is a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 189 member states. 

 

 

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.

 

 

The European Patent Organization is an intergovernmental organization that was set up on 7 October 1977 on the basis of the European Patent Convention signed in Munich in 1973. It has two bodies, the European Patent Office and the Administrative Council, which supervises the Office's activities. 

 

Free Online Databases

 

Kazakhstan Patents Databaseprovides information on patents registered in Kazakhstan. Some archives from 1993 are available in full-text.

PATENTSCOPE, a patent database maintained by WIPO, covers 59 million patents from 36 countries including European and World patents.

It provides the Google translation service and innovative cross-lingual search capability, includes excellent analysis and refining tools.

 

The European Patent Office has developed a free worldwide patent database of over 90 million patents from over 80 countries, most with full-text page images. It provides interfaces in EC member languages and a Google translation service for abstracts.

 

Google Patents includes over 4 million patent applications and over 10  million granted patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), Deutsches Patent und Markenamt (DPMA), Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), and China's State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO). Quick access to images (thumbnails and full size); downloadable PDFs; Google search features; full text of older patents; links to "prior art" and Ask Patents.

 

Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) covers patent references from nine states party to the Eurasian Patent Convention (EAPC): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Belarus, and the Russian Federation.

The Library Resources

undefined

Derwent Innovations Index - a part of the Web of Science suite of databases; covers patents from 2008 to the present only. Value-added edited patent citation information and abstracts by subject experts. Links to agency patent records. Citation searching by patent, assignee, or inventor.

 

There are over 23 million patent records in Scopus, derived from five patent offices, including the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.

 

Library Homepage Facebook Youtube Instagram Twitter Telegram E-mail