Turkic Languages: Reference Resources

a bibliographic database of the world's lesser-known languages, developed and maintained at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History in Jena, Germany. It provides a catalogue of the world's less-spoken languages and language families

a bibliographic website, which provides a free access to the great amount of texts in ancient and modern altaic languages: Turkic, Mongolian, Manchu-tungus, Korean and Japanese,as well as papers on altaic linguistics, biographies of famous scholars in the field of Altaic studies, bibliographies of linguistic studies, links to grammars and dictionaries.

a bibliographic website, which provides online resources for ancient languages, including Old Turkic languages.

an online encyclopedia detailing the structure and history of the world’s writing systems. It also provides useful links to other language-related resources.

a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

a digital collection of Turkic manuscripts, which is developed and maintained by UNESCO. It provides information about marginal Turkic languages, which have been mislaid at the center of Eurasia, samples of unique and not accessible written memorials.

a part of TITUS (German "Thesaurus Indogermanischer Text- und Sprachmaterialien" - thesaurus of Indo-European texts and languages) is a project of Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main, maintained by Professor Dr. Jost Gippert, it aimed to collect information about Indo-European languages, and to improve collaboration between scholars. The map shows the distribution of Turkic languages.

UNESCO's interactive online atlas of endangered languages around the world where you can spot the regions with endangered Turkic languages as well.

print and photographs online catalog which contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

a collaboration among libraries, museums, and research institutes worldwide to conserve, catalog, digitize and research archeological artifacts, manuscripts, and archives relating to the archeological sites of Central Asia during the period of the ‘Silk Road’. The members agree to make all the digitized material freely available online via the IDP multilingual websites, and to encourage use of this material for education and research.