Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Languages, Linguistics, and Literatures: Web Resources & Data

Datasets

The Language Archive
This resource contains:
a) Data archive about languages worldwide
b) Data creation, management and exploration tools
c) Archiving and software expertise for the Digital Humanities
more...less...
To access the datasets go to "Resources > Data Archive link" or "Resources > Metadata browser"
Re3dataorg
Global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
DOBES - Documentation of Endangered Languages
The DOBES Archive contains language documentation data from a great variety of languages from around the world that are in danger of becoming extinct. This portal gives access to the material in the archive and provides information about the DOBES endangered languages documentation programme.
more...less...
Go to "Access and Registration" link on the right
OLAC - Language Resource Catalog
This catalog, developed by the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
more...less...
click on the link "Search strategies" on the left-hand column for an introduction on how to search the database
Ethnologue
Resource on world languages

Foreign Service Institute (FSI)
This blog post contains links to other websites where you can find FSI's free books and audio for language learning
more...less...
even the more obscure languages are available
Anki cards
Create your own flashcards for quick language learning
Duolingo
Free mobile and desktop app for language learning