Here you can find the titles recommended as textbooks in the curriculum as well as relevant reference books.
Books with the call number starting with 'T' are located in the main library extension 3rd floor.
The "R" books are at the Medical Library (NUSoM), but you can request them to be sent to the Main Library through the Library's Quick Links -- Book Delivery Service.
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering Technology by
This updated fourth edition provides current information on devices and is divided into diagnostic and treatment sections. Devices are described with the theory of operation and relevant anatomical and physiological considerations. Aspects of BMET work including test equipment, standards, and information technology are also discussed. The text covers a wide variety of diagnostic and treatment devices currently used in hospitals that students will likely encounter in their career. Principles of operation and examples of use are provided. This book is unique in that it is written by an experienced biomed tech with 30 years' experience in hospitals rather than by engineers with little frontline experience. It is also unique in that it provides ancillary materials on the web and is the only guide divided into diagnostic and treatment device sections. This new edition also includes two new chapters on computers, information technology, and networking as well as health technology management. From the previous edition: "The book presents a comfortable balance between clinical applications, basic technical information, and various pictures of medical technologies one will encounter in the field. Additionally, related anatomy and physiology principles and essential technical terms are a nice complement to the technologies presented. The everyday duties and responsibilities of a biomed are captured by the various 'true-to-life' scenarios introduced throughout the book." --Joey Jones, Madisonville Community College, Kentucky, USA This book is intended for students in biomedical engineering technology and healthcare technology management (BMET/HTM) programs as well as biomedical engineering students. Field service representatives, medical device designers, and medical device sales representatives will also find it useful.
Commercializing Successful Biomedical Technologies by
Transform your research into commercial biomedical products with this revised and updated second edition. Covering drugs, devices and diagnostics, this book provides a step-by-step introduction to the process of commercialization, and will allow you to create a realistic business plan to develop your ideas into approved biomedical technologies. This new edition includes: Over 25% new material, including practical tips on startup creation from experienced entrepreneurs. Tools for starting, growing and managing a new venture, including business planning and commercial strategy, pitching investors, and managing operations. Global real-world case studies, including emerging technologies such as regulated medical software and Artificial Intelligence (AI), offer insights into key challenges and help illustrate complex points. Tips and operational tools from established industry insiders, suitable for graduate students and new biomedical entrepreneurs.
5g Impact on Biomedical Engineering by
Considering the importance of wireless networks in healthcare, this book is dedicated to studying the innovations and advancements of wireless networks for biomedical application and their impact. This book focuses on a wide range of wireless technologies related to healthcare and biomedical applications which include, among others, body sensor networks, mobile networks, internet of things, mobile cloud computing, pervasive computing and wearable computing. First the authors explain how biomedical applications using wireless technologies are built across networks. The authors also detail 5G spectrum splicing for medical applicatons. They then discuss how wearable computing can be used as activity recognition tools for biomedical applications through remote health monitoring and and remote health risk assessment. Finally the authors provide detailed discussions on security and privacy in wirelessly transmitted medical senor data. This book targets research-oriented and professional readers. It would fit as a recommended supplemental reading for graduate students. It also helps researchers enter the field of wireless biomedical applications.
Ethics, Technology, and Engineering by
Featuring a wide range of international case studies, Ethics,Technology, and Engineering presents a unique and systematicapproach for engineering students to deal with the ethical issuesthat are increasingly inherent in engineering practice. Utilizes a systematic approach to ethical case analysis -- theethical cycle -- which features a wide range of real-lifeinternational case studies including the Challenger Space Shuttle,the Herald of Free Enterprise and biofuels. Covers a broad range of topics, including ethics in design,risks, responsibility, sustainability, and emergingtechnologies Can be used in conjunction with the online ethics tool Agora(http://www.ethicsandtechnology.com) Provides engineering students with a clear introduction to themain ethical theories Includes an extensive glossary with key terms
Research Methods for Engineers by
Learn how to plan for success with this hands-on guide to conducting high-quality engineering research. Plan and implement your next project for maximum impact: step-by-step instructions cover every stage in engineering research, from the identification of an appropriate research topic through to the successful presentation of results. Improve your research outcomes: discover essential tools and methods for producing high-quality, rigorous research, including statistical analysis, survey design, and optimisation techniques. Research with purpose and direction: clear explanations, real-world examples, and over 50 customisable end-of-chapter exercises, all written with the practical and ethical considerations of engineering in mind. A unique engineering perspective: written especially for engineers, and relevant across all engineering disciplines, this is the ideal book for graduate students, undergraduates, and new academics looking to launch their research careers.
Introduction to Engineering Research by
Undergraduate and first-year graduate students engaging in engineering research need more than technical skills and tools to be successful. From finding a research position and funding, to getting the mentoring needed to be successful while conducting research responsibly, to learning how to do the other aspects of research associated with project management and communication, this book provides novice researchers with the guidance they need to begin developing mastery. Awareness and deeper understanding of the broader context of research reduces barriers to success, increases capacity to contribute to a research team, and enhances ability to work both independently and collaboratively. Being prepared for what's to come and knowing the questions to ask along the way allows those entering researcher to become more comfortable engaging with not only the research itself but also their colleagues and mentors.
Biomaterials Science by
The revised edition of this renowned and bestselling title is the most comprehensive single text on all aspects of biomaterials science. It provides a balanced, insightful approach to both the learning of the science and technology of biomaterials and acts as the key reference for practitioners who are involved in the applications of materials in medicine.
Essential Biomaterials Science by
This groundbreaking single-authored textbook equips students with everything they need to know to truly understand the hugely topical field of biomaterials science, including essential background on the clinical necessity of biomaterials, relevant concepts in biology and materials science, comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of all existing clinical and experimental biomaterials, and the fundamental principles of biocompatibility. It features extensive case studies interweaved with theory, from a wide range of clinical disciplines, equipping students with a practical understanding of the phenomena and mechanisms of biomaterials performance; a whole chapter dedicated to the biomaterials industry itself, including guidance on regulations, standards and guidelines, litigation, and ethical issues to prepare students for industry; informative glossaries of key terms, engaging end-of-chapter exercises, and up-to-date lists of recommended reading. Drawing on the author's 40 years' experience in biomaterials, this is an indispensible resource for students studying these lifesaving technological advances.
Quantitative Methods of Data Analysis for the Physical Sciences and Engineering by
This book provides thorough and comprehensive coverage of most of the new and important quantitative methods of data analysis for graduate students and practitioners. In recent years, data analysis methods have exploded alongside advanced computing power, and it is critical to understand such methods to get the most out of data, and to extract signal from noise. The book excels in explaining difficult concepts through simple explanations and detailed explanatory illustrations. Most unique is the focus on confidence limits for power spectra and their proper interpretation, something rare or completely missing in other books. Likewise, there is a thorough discussion of how to assess uncertainty via use of Expectancy, and the easy to apply and understand Bootstrap method. The book is written so that descriptions of each method are as self-contained as possible. Many examples are presented to clarify interpretations, as are user tips in highlighted boxes.
Fiber-Optic Sensors for Biomedical Applications by
This authoritative new resource presents fiber optic sensors and their applications in medical device design and biomedical engineering. Readers gain an understanding of which technology to use and adopt, and how to connect technologies with their respective applications. This book explores the innovation of diagnostics and how to use diagnostic tools.Principles of fiber optic sensing are covered and include details about intensity-based sensors, fiber bragg gratings, distributed sensors, and fabry-perot interferometers. This book explores interrogation software, standards for medical sensors, and discusses protocols and tools for validation. Various medical device engineering and applications are examined, including sensor catheterization, cardiovascular sensors, diagnostic in gastroscopy, urology, neurology, sensing in thermal ablation. Applications and detection of SPR sensors are presented, along with minimally invasive robotic surgery, smart textiles, wearable sensors and fiber-optic spectrometric sensors. This is a one-stop reference on fiber optic sensors for biomed applications.
M-Health by
Addresses recent advances from both the clinical and technological perspectives to provide a comprehensive presentation of m-Health This book introduces the concept of m-Health, first coined by Robert S. H. Istepanian in 2003. The evolution of m-Health since then--how it was transformed from an academic concept to a global healthcare technology phenomenon--is discussed. Afterwards the authors describe in detail the basics of the three enabling scientific technological elements of m-Health (sensors, computing, and communications), and how each of these key ingredients has evolved and matured over the last decade. The book concludes with detailed discussion of the future of m-Health and presents future directions to potentially shape and transform healthcare services in the coming decades. In addition, this book: Discusses the rapid evolution of m-Health in parallel with the maturing process of its enabling technologies, from bio-wearable sensors to the wireless and mobile communication technologies from IOT to 5G systems and beyond Includes clinical examples and current studies, particularly in acute and chronic disease management, to illustrate some of the relevant medical aspects and clinical applications of m-Health Describes current m-Health ecosystems and business models Covers successful applications and deployment examples of m-Health in various global health settings, particularly in developing countries
Advances in Therapeutic Engineering by
Therapeutic Engineering (TE) is a cutting-edge domain in today¿s era of medical technology research. Through engineering algorithms that provide technological solutions, it aims to elevate the quality of life of disabled individuals. Advances in Therapeutic Engineering describes various therapeutic processes and mechanisms currently applied to the field of healthcare in a range of areas, including mobility, communications, hearing, vision, and mental health and cognition. The book explores research and advances in the areas of hand-eye coordination, motor function, the biomechanics of lower limbs, and treatment of spinal diseases and neural plasticity. It discusses electrical stimulation methodologies for improving human gait. It also examines prosthetic devices and assistive technology, induction heater-based treatment, and inclusive user modelling and simulation. Additional chapters cover automated asthma detection using clinico¿spirometric information, computer-aided diagnostic modules for malaria screening, and various data mining techniques that have been developed and successfully implemented in healthcare management. The contributors also examine semantic interoperability issues in e-health systems and clinical decision support systems (CDSSs) Ranging from prosthetics to sensory substitution and medical robotics, the book will prove enlightening to researchers and practitioners in a host of disciplines who want to understand the recent advances achieved globally in the field of therapeutic engineering.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials by
Smart materials--materials and structures that can impart information about their environment to an observer or monitoring device--are revolutionizing fields as diverse as engineering, optics, and medical technology. Advances in smart materials are impacting disciplines across the scientific and technological landscape. Now, practictioners and researchers have an authoritative source to go to for answers about this emerging new area. Encyclopedia of Smart Materials provides A-to-Z coverage of the entire field of intelligent materials. Discussions of theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses of these unique materials are presented here in a collection of concise entries from the world's foremost experts in the field--including scientists, educators and engineers. This encyclopedia is as broad in scope as the technology itself, addressing daily, commercial applications as well as sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground, and within the human body. Extensively cross-referenced and generously supplemented with bibliographies and indexes, this book's treatment also broaches the specialized properties and coatings that are required for the use of materials in extreme conditions. Illustrated with photographs, tables, line drawings, and equations, Encyclopedia of Smart Materials is the premier reference for material scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants, patent attorneys and students in these areas. An essential resource on the shelves of laboratories, government facilities, and academic libraries. Editor-in-Chief, Mel Schwartz has over forty years of experience with metals, ceramics, and composites, with special expertise in brazing. The holder of five patents, he has authored thirteen books and more than one hundred technical papers and articles. Reach the information you need rapidly and easily with the ONLINE edition of the Encyclopedia of Smart Materials. The online edition delivers all the rich content of the print edition with the added benefits of an advanced search engine and the desktop convenience of web access. For more information or to license the online edition (beginning July 2002) please visit: www.interscience.wiley.com/reference/esm
Nanobiomaterials in Hard Tissue Engineering by
Nanobiomaterials in Hard Tissue Engineering covers the latest developments in the field of hard tissue engineering at the nanoscale. Leading researchers from around the world discuss the latest research and offer new insights. This book presents data about the fabrication and characterization of nanobiomaterials involved in hard tissue reconstruction, describing recent progress and the advantages of both conventional and computer-aided methods. Recent applications of different classes of nanobiomaterials are discussed, with in vitro and in vivo applications also explained in detail. Special attention is paid to the applications of nanobiomaterials in bone regeneration and in the development of functional coatings for tailored implants to improve osseointegration. Finally, the book considers future challenges and perspectives. This book will be of interest to postdoctoral researchers, professors and students engaged in the fields of materials science, biotechnology and applied chemistry. It will also be highly valuable to those working in industry, including pharmaceutics and biotechnology companies, medical researchers, biomedical engineers and advanced clinicians.
Nanobiomaterials in Soft Tissue Engineering by
Nanobiomaterials in Soft Tissue Engineering brings together recent developments and the latest approaches in the field of soft tissue engineering at the nanoscale, offering a new perspective on the evolution of current and future applications. Leading researchers from around the world present the latest research and share new insights. This book covers the major conventional and unconventional fabrication methods of typical three-dimensional scaffolds used in regenerative medicine. Surface modification and spatial properties are included in an up-to-date overview, with the latest in vivo applications of engineered 3D scaffolds discussed. The book also considers the impact, advantages and future scope of the various methods. This book will be of interest to postdoctoral researchers, professors and students engaged in the fields of materials science, biotechnology and applied chemistry. It will also be highly valuable to those working in industry, including pharmaceutics and biotechnology companies, medical researchers, biomedical engineers and advanced clinicians.
Engineering Musculoskeletal Tissues and Interfaces by
Repair and regeneration of musculoskeletal tissues is generating substantial interest within the biomedical community. Consequently, these are the most researched tissues from the regeneration point of view. Regenerative Engineering of Musculoskeletal Tissues and Interfaces presents information on the fundamentals, progress and recent developments related to the repair and regeneration of musculoskeletal tissues and interfaces. This comprehensive review looks at individual tissues as well as tissue interfaces. Early chapters cover various fundamentals of biomaterials and scaffolds, types of cells, growth factors, and mechanical forces, moving on to discuss tissue-engineering strategies for bone, tendon, ligament, cartilage, meniscus, and muscle, as well as progress and advances in tissue vascularization and nerve innervation of the individual tissues. Final chapters present information on musculoskeletal tissue interfaces.
Multiscale Mechanobiology in Tissue Engineering by
This book focuses on the mechanobiological principles in tissue engineering with a particular emphasis on the multiscale aspects of the translation of mechanical forces from bioreactors down to the cellular level. The book contributes to a better understanding of the design and use of bioreactors for tissue engineering and the use of mechanical loading to optimize in vitro cell culture conditions. It covers experimental and computational approaches and the combination of both to show the benefits that computational modelling can bring to experimentalists when studying in vitro cell culture within a scaffold. With topics from multidisciplinary fields of the life sciences, medicine, and engineering, this work provides a novel approach to the use of engineering tools for the optimization of biological processes and its application to regenerative medicine. The volume is a valuable resource for researchers and graduate students studying mechanobiology and tissue engineering. For undergraduate students it also provides deep insight into tissue engineering and its use in the design of bioreactors. The book is supplemented with extensive references for all chapters to help the reader to progress through the study of each topic.
Beyond Cloning by
Titles in the Pocket Tutor series give practical guidance on subjects that medical students and foundation doctors need help with "on the go", at a highly affordable price that puts them within reach of those rotating through modular courses or working on attachment. Common investigations (ECG, imaging, etc) Clinical skills (patient examination, etc.) Clinical specialties that students perceive as too small to merit a textbook (psychiatry, renal medicine) Key Points Practical, accessible guide to examining the patient, which remains the bedrock of diagnosis and clinical evaluation Consistent chapter organisation: each body system chapter starts with relevant basic science, then highlights key signs before summarising examination technique Lavishly illustrated with clinical photographs, summary tables and tips boxes
Tissue Engineering by
Tissue Engineering is a comprehensive introduction to the engineering and biological aspects of this critical subject. With contributions from internationally renowned authors, it provides a broad perspective on tissue engineering for students coming to the subject for the first time. In addition to the key topics covered in the previous edition, this update also includes new material on the regulatory authorities, commercial considerations as well as new chapters on microfabrication, materiomics and cell/biomaterial interface.
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering by
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering is a comprehensive survey text for biomedical engineering courses. It is the most widely adopted text across the BME course spectrum, valued by instructors and students alike for its authority, clarity and encyclopedic coverage in a single volume. Biomedical engineers need to understand the wide range of topics that are covered in this text, including basic mathematical modeling; anatomy and physiology; electrical engineering, signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics; biomaterials science and tissue engineering; and medical and engineering ethics. Enderle and Bronzino tackle these core topics at a level appropriate for senior undergraduate students and graduate students who are majoring in BME, or studying it as a combined course with a related engineering, biology or life science, or medical/pre-medical course. NEW: Each chapter in the 3rd Edition is revised and updated, with new chapters and materials on compartmental analysis, biochemical engineering, transport phenomena, physiological modeling and tissue engineering. Chapters on peripheral topics have been removed and made avaialblw online, including optics and computational cell biology NEW: many new worked examples within chapters NEW: more end of chapter exercises, homework problems NEW: image files from the text available in PowerPoint format for adopting instructors Readers benefit from the experience and expertise of two of the most internationally renowned BME educators Instructors benefit from a comprehensive teaching package including a fully worked solutions manual
Applied Biofluid Mechanics by
Improve Your Grasp of Fluid Mechanics in the Human Circulatory System_and Develop Better Medical Devices Applied Biofluid Mechanics features a solid grasp of the role of fluid mechanics in the human circulatory system that will help in the research and design of new medical instruments, equipment, and procedures. Filled with 100 detailed illustrations, the book examines cardiovascular anatomy and physiology, pulmonary anatomy and physiology, hematology, histology and function of blood vessels, heart valve mechanics and prosthetic heart valves, stents, pulsatile flow in large arteries, flow and pressure measurement, modeling, and dimensional analysis.
Biomedical Engineering Principles by
Current demand in biomedical sciences emphasizes the understanding of basic mechanisms and problem solving rather than rigid empiricism and factual recall. Knowledge of the basic laws of mass and momentum transport as well as model development and validation, biomedical signal processing, biomechanics, and capstone design have indispensable roles in the engineering analysis of physiological processes. To this end, an introductory, multidisciplinary text is a must to provide the necessary foundation for beginning biomedical students. Assuming no more than a passing acquaintance with molecular biology, physiology, biochemistry, and signal processing, Biomedical Engineering Principles, Second Edition provides just such a solid, accessible grounding to this rapidly advancing field. Acknowledging the vast range of backgrounds and prior education from which the biomedical field draws, the organization of this book lends itself to a tailored course specific to the experience and interests of the student. Divided into four sections, the book begins with systems physiology, transport processes, cell physiology, and the cardiovascular system. Part I covers systems analysis, biological data, and modeling and simulation in experimental design, applying concepts of diffusion, and facilitated and active transport. Part II presents biomedical signal processing, reviewing frequency, periodic functions, and Fourier series as well as signal acquisition and processing techniques. Part III presents the practical applications of biomechanics, focusing on the mechanical and structural properties of bone, musculoskeletal, and connective tissue with respect to joint range, load bearing capacity, and electrical stimulation. The final part highlights capstone design, discussing design perspectives for living and nonliving systems, the role of the FDA, and the project timeline from inception to proof of concept. Cutting across many disciplines, Biomedical Engineering Principles, Second Edition offers illustrative examples as well as problems and discussion questions designed specifically for this book to provide a readily accessible, widely applicable introductory text.
Physiology for Engineers by
This book provides an introduction to qualitative and quantitative aspects of human physiology. It looks at biological and physiological processes and phenomena, including a selection of mathematical models, showing how physiological problems can be mathematically formulated and studied. It also illustrates how a wide range of engineering and physics topics, including electronics, fluid dynamics, solid mechanics and control theory can be used to describe and understand physiological processes and systems. Throughout the text there are introductions to measuring and quantifying physiological processes using both signal and imaging technologies. Physiology for Engineers describes the basic structure and models of cellular systems, the structure and function of the cardiovascular system, the electrical and mechanical activity of the heart and provides an overview of the structure and function of the respiratory and nervous systems. It also includes an introduction to the basic concepts and applications of reaction kinetics, pharmacokinetic modelling and tracer kinetics. It is of interest to final year biomedical engineering undergraduates and graduate students alike, as well as to practising engineers new to the fields of bioengineering or medical physics.
Signals and Systems in Biomedical Engineering by
The use of digital signal processing is ubiquitous in the field of physiology and biomedical engineering. The application of such mathematical and computational tools requires a formal or explicit understanding of physiology. Formal models and analytical techniques are interlinked in physiology as in any other field. This book takes a unitary approach to physiological systems, beginning with signal measurement and acquisition, followed by signal processing, linear systems modelling, and computer simulations. The signal processing techniques range across filtering, spectral analysis and wavelet analysis. Emphasis is placed on fundamental understanding of the concepts as well as solving numerical problems. Graphs and analogies are used extensively to supplement the mathematics. Detailed models of nerve and muscle at the cellular and systemic levels provide examples for the mathematical methods and computer simulations. Several of the models are sufficiently sophisticated to be of value in understanding real world issues like neuromuscular disease. This second edition features expanded problem sets and a link to extra downloadable material.
Introductory Bioelectronics by
Bioelectronics is a rich field of research involving the application of electronics engineering principles to biology, medicine, and the health sciences. With its interdisciplinary nature, bioelectronics spans state-of-the-art research at the interface between the life sciences, engineering and physical sciences. Introductory Bioelectronics offers a concise overview of the field and teaches the fundamentals of biochemical, biophysical, electrical, and physiological concepts relevant to bioelectronics. It is the first book to bring together these various topics, and to explain the basic theory and practical applications at an introductory level. The authors describe and contextualise the science by examining recent research and commercial applications. They also cover the design methods and forms of instrumentation that are required in the application of bioelectronics technology. The result is a unique book with the following key features: an interdisciplinary approach, which develops theory through practical examples and clinical applications, and delivers the necessary biological knowledge from an electronic engineer's perspective a problem section in each chapter that readers can use for self-assessment, with model answers given at the end of the book along with references to key scientific publications discussions of new developments in the bioelectronics and biosensors fields, such as microfluidic devices and nanotechnology Supplying the tools to succeed, this text is the best resource for engineering and physical sciences students in bioelectronics, biomedical engineering and micro/nano-engineering. Not only that, it is also a resource for researchers without formal training in biology, who are entering PhD programmes or working on industrial projects in these areas.
A Novel Intrabody Communication Transceiver for Biomedical Applications by
This monograph explores Intrabody communication (IBC) as a novel non-RF wireless data communication technique using the human body itself as the communication channel or transmission medium. In particular, the book investigates Intrabody Communication considering limb joint effects within the transmission frequency range 0.3-200 MHz. Based on in-vivo experiments which determine the effects of size, situations, and locations of joints on the IBC, the book proposes a new IBC circuit model explaining elbow joint effects. This model not only takes the limb joint effects of the body into account but also considers the influence of measurement equipment in higher frequency band thus predicting signal attenuation behavior over wider frequency ranges. Finally, this work proposes transmitter and receiver architectures for intrabody communication. A carrier-free scheme based on impulse radio for the IBC is implemented on a FPGA.
Biomedical Informatics by
The practice of modern medicine and biomedical research requires sophisticated information technologies with which to manage patient information, plan diagnostic procedures, interpret laboratory results, and carry out investigations. Biomedical Informatics provides both a conceptual framework and a practical inspiration for this swiftly emerging scientific discipline at the intersection of computer science, decision science, information science, cognitive science, and biomedicine. Now revised and in its third edition, this text meets the growing demand by practitioners, researchers, and students for a comprehensive introduction to key topics in the field. Authored by leaders in medical informatics and extensively tested in their courses, the chapters in this volume constitute an effective textbook for students of medical informatics and its areas of application. The book is also a useful reference work for individual readers needing to understand the role that computers can play in the provision of clinical services and the pursuit of biological questions. The volume is organized so as first to explain basic concepts and then to illustrate them with specific systems and technologies.
Signals and Systems for Bioengineers: a MATLAB-based introduction by
Signals and Systems for Bioengineers, Second Edition, is the only textbook that relates important electrical engineering concepts to biomedical engineering and biological studies. It explains in detail the basic engineering concepts that underlie biomedical systems, medical devices, biocontrol, and biosignal analysis. It is perfect for the one-semester bioengineering course usually offered in conjunction with a laboratory on signals and measurements which presents the fundamentals of systems and signal analysis. The target course occupies a pivotal position in the bioengineering curriculum and will play a critical role in the future development of bioengineering students. This book provides increased coverage of time-domain signal analysis as well as biomeasurement, using examples in ultrasound and electrophysiology. It also presents new applications in biocontrol, with examples from physiological systems modeling such as the respiratory system. It contains double the number of Matlab and non-Matlab exercises to provide ample practice solving problems - by hand and with computational tools. More biomedical figures are found throughout the book. For instructors using this text in their course, an accompanying website (www.elsevierdirect.com, in Semmlow page) includes support materials such as MATLAB data and functions needed to solve the problems, a few helpful routines, and all of the MATLAB examples. Intended readers include biomedical engineering students, practicing medical technicians, mechanical engineers, and electrical engineers.
Chemical and Biomedical Engineering Calculations Using Python by
Presents standard numerical approaches for solving common mathematical problems in engineering using Python. Covers the most common numerical calculations used by engineering students Covers Numerical Differentiation and Integration, Initial Value Problems, Boundary Value Problems, and Partial Differential Equations Focuses on open ended, real world problems that require students to write a short report/memo as part of the solution process Includes an electronic download of the Python codes presented in the book
Fundamentals of Biomechanics by
This textbook integrates the classic fields of mechanics--statics, dynamics, and strength of materials--using examples from biology and medicine. The book is excellent for teaching either undergraduates in biomedical engineering programs or health care professionals studying biomechanics at the graduate level. Extensively revised from a successful third edition, Fundamentals of Biomechanics features a wealth of clear illustrations, numerous worked examples, and many problem sets. The book provides the quantitative perspective missing from more descriptive texts, without requiring an advanced background in mathematics. It will be welcomed for use in courses such as biomechanics and orthopedics, rehabilitation and industrial engineering, and occupational or sports medicine. This book: Introduces the fundamental concepts, principles, and methods that must be understood to begin the study of biomechanics Reinforces basic principles of biomechanics with repetitive exercises in class and homework assignments given throughout the textbook Includes over 100 new problem sets with solutions and illustrations
Handbook of Biomedical Telemetry by
A must-have compendium on biomedical telemetry for all biomedical professional engineers, researchers, and graduate students in the field Handbook of Biomedical Telemetry describes the main components of a typical biomedical telemetry system, as well as its technical challenges. Written by a diverse group of experts in the field, it is filled with overviews, highly-detailed scientific analyses, and example applications of biomedical telemetry. The book also addresses technologies for biomedical sensing and design of biomedical telemetry devices with special emphasis on powering/integration issues and materials for biomedical telemetry applications. Handbook of Biomedical Telemetry: Describes the main components of a typical biomedical telemetry system, along with the technical challenges Discusses issues of spectrum regulations, standards, and interoperability--while major technical challenges related to advanced materials, miniaturization, and biocompatibility issues are also included Covers body area electromagnetics, inductive coupling, antennas for biomedical telemetry, intra-body communications, non-RF communication links for biomedical telemetry (optical biotelemetry), as well as safety issues, human phantoms, and exposure assessment to high-frequency biotelemetry fields Presents biosensor network topologies and standards; context-aware sensing and multi-sensor fusion; security and privacy issues in biomedical telemetry; and the connection between biomedical telemetry and telemedicine Introduces clinical applications of Body Sensor Networks (BSNs) in addition to selected examples of wearable, implantable, ingestible devices, stimulator and integrated mobile healthcare system paradigms for monitoring and therapeutic intervention Covering biomedical telemetry devices, biosensor network topologies and standards, clinical applications, wearable and implantable devices, and the effects on the mobile healthcare system, this compendium is a must-have for professional engineers, researchers, and graduate students.
Nanomaterials in Drug Delivery, Imaging, and Tissue Engineering by
This groundbreaking, multidisciplinary work is one of the first books to cover Nanotheragnostics, the new developmental edge of nanomedicine. Through a collection of authoritative chapters, the book reports on nanoscopic therapeutic systems that incorporate therapeutic agents, molecular targeting, and diagnostic imaging capabilities. An invaluable reference for researchers in materials science, bioengineering, pharmacy, biotechnology, and nanotechnology, this volume features four main parts on biomedical nanomaterials, advanced nanomedicine, nanotheragnostics, and nanoscaffolds technology.
Biomedical Signal Analysis by
The book will help assist a reader in the development of techniques for analysis of biomedical signals and computer aided diagnoses with a pedagogical examination of basic and advanced topics accompanied by over 350 figures and illustrations. Wide range of filtering techniques presented to address various applications 800 mathematical expressions and equations Practical questions, problems and laboratory exercises Includes fractals and chaos theory with biomedical applications
Biomaterials as Stem Cell Niche by
Recent developments in stem cell biology have opened new directions in cell therapy. This book provides the state-of-the-art developments in using biomaterials as artificial niches for engineering stem cells, both for the purpose of better understanding their biology under 3D biomimetic conditions as well as for developing new strategies for efficient long term maintenance and directed differentiation of stem cells into various therapeutic lineages. Animal and human stem cells of both embryonic and adult origin are discussed with applications ranging from nerve regeneration, orthopedics, cardiovascular therapy, blood cell generation and cancer therapy. Both synthetic and natural biomaterials are reviewed with emphasis on how material-stem cell interactions direct specific signaling pathways and ultimately modulate the cell fate. This book is valuable for biomaterial scientists, tissue engineers, clinicians as well as stem cell biologists involved in basic research and applications of adult and embryonic stem cells.
Ethics, Research Methods and Standards in Biomedical Engineering by
Increasingly, biomedical scientists and engineers are involved in projects, design, or research and development that involve humans or animals. The book presents general concepts on professionalism and the regulation of the profession of engineering, including a discussion on what is ethics and moral conduct, ethical theories and the codes of ethics that are most relevant for engineers. An ethical decision-making process is suggested. Other issues such as conflicts of interest, plagiarism, intellectual property, confidentiality, privacy, fraud, and corruption are presented. General guidelines, the process for obtaining ethics approval from Ethics Review Boards, and the importance of obtaining informed consent from volunteers recruited for studies are presented. A discussion on research with animals is included.Ethical dilemmas focus on reproductive technologies, stem cells, cloning, genetic testing, and designer babies. The book includes a discussion on ethics and the technologies of body enhancement and of regeneration. The importance of assessing the impact of technology on people, society, and on our planet is stressed. Particular attention is given to nanotechnologies, the environment, and issues that pertain to developing countries. Ideas on gender, culture, and ethics focus on how research and access to medical services have, at times, been discriminatory towards women. The cultural aspects focus on organ transplantation in Japan, and a case study of an Aboriginal child in Canada; both examples show the impact that culture can have on how care is provided or accepted. The final section of the book discusses data collection and analysis and offers a guideline for honest reporting of results, avoiding fraud, or unethical approaches. The appendix presents a few case studies where fraud and/or unethical research have occurred.Table of Contents: Introduction to Ethics / Experiments with Human Subjects or Animals / Examples of Ethical Dilemmas in Biomedical Research / Technology and Society / Gender, Culture, and Ethics / Data Collection and Analysis
MATLAB for Engineering and the Life Sciences by
In recent years, the life sciences have embraced simulation as an important tool in biomedical research. Engineers are also using simulation as a powerful step in the design process. In both arenas, Matlab has become the gold standard. It is easy to learn, flexible, and has a large and growing userbase. MATLAB for Engineering and the Life Sciences is a self-guided tour of the basic functionality of MATLAB along with the functions that are most commonly used in biomedical engineering and other life sciences. Although the text is written for undergraduates, graduate students and academics, those in industry may also find value in learning MATLAB through biologically inspired examples. For instructors, the book is intended to take the emphasis off of learning syntax so that the course can focus more on algorithmic thinking. Although it is not assumed that the reader has taken differential equations or a linear algebra class, there are short introductions to many of these concepts. Following a short history of computing, the MATLAB environment is introduced. Next, vectors and matrices are discussed, followed by matrix-vector operations. The core programming elements of MATLAB are introduced in three successive chapters on scripts, loops, and conditional logic. The last three chapters outline how to manage the input and output of data, create professional quality graphics and find and use Matlab toolboxes. Throughout, biomedical examples are used to illustrate MATLAB's capabilities.Table of Contents: Introduction / Matlab Programming Environment / Vectors / Matrices / Matrix -- Vector Operations / Scripts and Functions / Loops / Conditional Logic / Data In, Data Out / Graphics / Toolboxes
Research Methods for Engineers by
Learn how to plan for success with this hands-on guide to conducting high-quality engineering research. Plan and implement your next project for maximum impact: step-by-step instructions cover every stage in engineering research, from the identification of an appropriate research topic through to the successful presentation of results. Improve your research outcomes: discover essential tools and methods for producing high-quality, rigorous research, including statistical analysis, survey design, and optimisation techniques. Research with purpose and direction: clear explanations, real-world examples, and over 50 customisable end-of-chapter exercises, all written with the practical and ethical considerations of engineering in mind. A unique engineering perspective: written especially for engineers, and relevant across all engineering disciplines, this is the ideal book for graduate students, undergraduates, and new academics looking to launch their research careers.
Essential Biomaterials Science by
This groundbreaking single-authored textbook equips students with everything they need to know to truly understand the hugely topical field of biomaterials science, including essential background on the clinical necessity of biomaterials, relevant concepts in biology and materials science, comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of all existing clinical and experimental biomaterials, and the fundamental principles of biocompatibility. It features extensive case studies interweaved with theory, from a wide range of clinical disciplines, equipping students with a practical understanding of the phenomena and mechanisms of biomaterials performance; a whole chapter dedicated to the biomaterials industry itself, including guidance on regulations, standards and guidelines, litigation, and ethical issues to prepare students for industry; informative glossaries of key terms, engaging end-of-chapter exercises, and up-to-date lists of recommended reading. Drawing on the author's 40 years' experience in biomaterials, this is an indispensible resource for students studying these lifesaving technological advances.