Nazarbayev University LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering: e-Resources

Recommended Databases

Database is a collection of subject-specific articles, books, or multi type content which can be browsed and searched including in full text format. Below are the recommended databases from the library subscription with the content related to biomedicine.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is your go-to Access collection of medical learning resources featuring hundreds of books, review questions, cases, videos, podcasts, infographics, interactive 3D modules and more across the basic sciences and clinical specialties. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the name of the platform where you have unlimited, full-text access to more than three million documents of all resources below:IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains articles and conference proceedings published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). For engineering students.IEEE-MIT eBooks library offers access to almost 550 online books, with nearly 40 new titles introduced every year. Content includes award-winning titles on computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering. Over 10,000 chapters are available as downloadable PDFs.MIT press journals is a non-profit academic publisher. The Journals branch was founded in 1969 and currently publishes more than 30 titles, many with a high impact factor, that cover arts and humanities, social sciences, and specialized areas of science and technology. MIT Press Journals strives to publish reputable, innovative, cross-cultural content that reaches around the globe.IEEE-Wiley eBooks offers online access to over 700 eBooks, covering content including bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies. The books range from introductory to advanced coverage of topics. More than 80% of titles were added after 2000 and approximately 40 new titles are added every year. Over 13,000 chapters are available as downloadable PDFs.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making finding and applying relevant knowledge easier.
ClinicalKey provides physicians with the evidence-based information they need to stay current and make informed decisions. ClinicalKey is for:
- Physicians - Enabling physicians to stay abreast of rapidly expanding clinical knowledge — from quick answers at the point of care to deep reference information.
- Nurses - Empowering nurses with actionable answers to carry out treatment plans efficiently.
- Pharmacists - Empowering pharmacists to guide optimal drug treatment.
- Students - Equipping medical students and faculty with the knowledge they need when they need it.
ClinicalKey Support Center
Nature This link opens in a new window
Nature publishes high-impact journals across physical, chemical, applied sciences, and clinical medicine. Additional resources include job boards, conference listings, blogs, podcasts, and mobile apps for academic support. NU's subscription includes key journals like Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Energy, Nature Genetics, Nature Reviews Cancer, and Scientific American, among others.

There is a trial access (until 26th of February) to articles for 2022-2025. More than 100 most influential journals in the field of natural sciences, among them the journal Nature, Nature Biomedical Engineering, Nature Catalysis, Nature Chemistry and others.

A-Z Database List
Explore more resources from the full list of library subscription

Tips for Finding Articles

Primo is a great place to search for articles, academic journals, and other electronic materials. While internet is a powerful search engine, you will benefit from the library resources having access to scholarly and peer-review information from different databases.

Keyword Search is "default" search. Keyword searching is usually less precise, but more flexible than subject searching. Particularly useful for new topics, and for combining two or more ideas.
Subject searching looks for words in the Subject field. Subject searching is a good strategy for topics that are well-defined, and have a lot written about them
Access more specific search options through Advanced search. Useful when you want to target a search to a type of content or to a specific discipline.
Omit all punctuation marks.
Refine Search results by filters on the left side of the page (Full text, language, date, type etc.)
Use PDF/HTML full text or Open Full text links in order to read/download the articles.
If there are no copies or the full text is not available:
contact your Subject Librarian for help in finding the documents
use Interlibrary loan service to request electronic copy of an article or the book chapters.

The guides below will help you to navigate to the different features of Primo (library discovery) and how to read ebooks.

Primo Quick Start Guide
by Monika Bukowska Updated Apr 9, 2025 147 views this year

Searching for Information
by Reference Librarians Updated Oct 16, 2024 252 views this year

Biomedical Engineering: e-Resources

Recommended Databases

Tips for Finding Articles

NU FAQ