Searching for ebooks on EBSCO database you will be given the different options for viewing and downloading: eBook PDF Full Text, EPUB Full Text or Full Download.
If you select PDF Full text you will be taken to the page for online reading where you can find
1. options to save, email, cite, save selected pages
2. content navigation and download by chapter
3. license limitation for downloading / printing and copies available
This option allows you to borrow ebooks for reading from your desktop computer or other devices:
2. The Download duration is set by default 14 days as for general library borrowings
3. Confirm that you have Adobe® Digital Editions or equivalent reader software installed needed fo PDF or ePub format.
4. When a downloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in your Adobe Digital Editions library. From this library, the ebook can be transferred to a compatible device (kindle, e-reader or other).
Some books might be limited in the number of copies but you can place a hold and access the ebook when it is returned.
Engineering Management by
Engineering Management: Meeting the Global Challenges prepares engineers to fulfill their managerial responsibilities, acquire useful business perspectives, and take on the much-needed leadership roles to meet the challenges in the new millennium. Value addition, customer focus, and business perspectives are emphasized throughout. Also underlined are discussions of leadership attributes, steps to acquire these attributes, the areas engineering managers are expected to add value, the web-based tools which can be aggressively applied to develop and sustain competitive advantages, the opportunities offered by market expansion into global regions, and the preparations required for engineering managers to become global leaders. The book is organized into three major sections: functions of engineering management, business fundamentals for engineering managers, and engineering management in the new millennium. This second edition refocuses on the new strategy for science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) professionals and managers to meet the global challenges through the creation of strategic differentiation and operational excellence. Major revisions include a new chapter on creativity and innovation, a new chapter on operational excellence, and combination of the chapters on financial accounting and financial management. The design strategy for this second edition strives for achieving the T-shaped competencies, with both broad-based perspectives and in-depth analytical skills. Such a background is viewed as essential for STEM professionals and managers to exert a strong leadership role in the dynamic and challenging marketplace. The material in this book will surely help engineering managers play key leadership roles in their organizations by optimally applying their combined strengths in engineering and management.
SFPE Handbook of Fire Protection Engineering by
Revised and significantly expanded, the fifth edition of this classic work offers both new and substantially updated information. As the definitive reference on fire protection engineering, this book provides thorough treatment of the current best practices in fire protection engineering and performance-based fire safety. Over 130 eminent fire engineers and researchers contributed chapters to the book, representing universities and professional organizations around the world. It remains the indispensible source for reliable coverage of fire safety engineering fundamentals, fire dynamics, hazard calculations, fire risk analysis, modeling and more. With seventeen new chapters and over 1,800 figures, the this new edition contains: Step-by-step equations that explain engineering calculations Comprehensive revision of the coverage of human behavior in fire, including several new chapters on egress system design, occupant evacuation scenarios, combustion toxicity and data for human behavior analysis Revised fundamental chapters for a stronger sense of context Added chapters on fire protection system selection and design, including selection of fire safety systems, system activation and controls and CO2 extinguishing systems Recent advances in fire resistance design Addition of new chapters on industrial fire protection, including vapor clouds, effects of thermal radiation on people, BLEVEs, dust explosions and gas and vapor explosions New chapters on fire load density, curtain walls, wildland fires and vehicle tunnels Essential reference appendices on conversion factors, thermophysical property data, fuel properties and combustion data, configuration factors and piping properties "Three-volume set; not available separately"
Handbook of Mathematics and Statistics for the Environment by
A thorough revision of the previous "Environmental Engineer's Mathematics Handbook," this book offers readers an unusual approach to presenting environmental math concepts, emphasizing the relationship between the principles in natural processes and environmental processes. It integrates the fundamental math operations performed by environmental pr
Perovskite Solar Cells by
The increasing use of metal halide perovskites as light harvesters has stunned the photovoltaic community. The book, Perovskite Solar Cells: Technology and Practices, covers the basics and provides up-to-date research in the field of perovskite photovoltaics¿a fast trending branch of the thin film photovoltaic generation. This comprehensive handbook provides a broad and overall picture of perovskite solar cells (PSCs), starting with the history of development and revolution of PSCs. The authors then delve into electron-transporting materials, hole-transporting materials, and lead-free alternatives. An important chapter on tandem solar cells is also included. The chapters discuss how different layers in PSCs are fabricated and function and how their roles are as important as the perovskite layer itself. It explores what has been done and what can probably be done to further improve the performance of this device.
Exploring BeagleBone by
In-depth instruction and practical techniques for building with the BeagleBone embedded Linux platform Exploring BeagleBone is a hands-on guide to bringing gadgets, gizmos, and robots to life using the popular BeagleBone embedded Linux platform. Comprehensive content and deep detail provide more than just a BeagleBone instruction manual-you'll also learn the underlying engineering techniques that will allow you to create your own projects. The book begins with a foundational primer on essential skills, and then gradually moves into communication, control, and advanced applications using C/C++, allowing you to learn at your own pace. In addition, the book's companion website features instructional videos, source code, discussion forums, and more, to ensure that you have everything you need. The BeagleBone's small size, high performance, low cost, and extreme adaptability have made it a favorite development platform, and the Linux software base allows for complex yet flexible functionality. The BeagleBone has applications in smart buildings, robot control, environmental sensing, to name a few; and, expansion boards and peripherals dramatically increase the possibilities. Exploring BeagleBone provides a reader-friendly guide to the device, including a crash course in computer engineering. While following step by step, you can: Get up to speed on embedded Linux, electronics, and programming Master interfacing electronic circuits, buses and modules, with practical examples Explore the Internet-connected BeagleBone and the BeagleBone with a display Apply the BeagleBone to sensing applications, including video and sound Explore the BeagleBone's Programmable Real-Time Controllers Updated to cover the latest Beagle boards, Linux kernel versions, and Linux software releases. Includes new content on Linux kernel development, the Linux Remote Processor Framework, CAN bus, IoT frameworks, and much more! Hands-on learning helps ensure that your new skills stay with you, allowing you to design with electronics, modules, or peripherals even beyond the BeagleBone. Insightful guidance and online peer support help you transition from beginner to expert as you master the techniques presented in Exploring BeagleBone, the practical handbook for the popular computing platform.
Cultural Theory for the Humanities by
This theory of culture, a synthesis of thinking from Europe, the Americas and Asia, illustrates the function and meaning of culture rather than form. It fuses philosophy, anthropology, sociology, history, science, psychology, literature, literary criticism and linguistics all areas that a comprehensive theory must comprise because they constitute culture. The essence of culture is identity, or psychosocial homeostasis. A primary problem for cultural solution is the determination of what has identity. As social concepts, individuals can have identity in some cultures but not in others. Where identity is possible, it is generally derived from shared identities of defined groups and even of the culture itself. Essential identity of individuals, even in cultures that admit it, does not occur within the scope of culture. This theory concerns the possibilities and forms of culturally recognizable identity. The Editor of this book examines this Cultural Theory for the humanities.
Economic Modeling, Analysis, and Policy for Sustainability by
As the global economy continues to grow and change, issues concerning sustainability practices have become more prevalent. The implementation of efficient sustainability procedures offers significant assistance in the development of modern economies. Economic Modeling, Analysis, and Policy for Sustainability focuses on interdisciplinary perspectives concerning the social, environmental, and economic spheres of sustainability science. Emphasizing economic models, as well as mitigation policies and practices from various regions of the world, this book is a pivotal reference source for researchers, policy makers, government officials, and corporate leaders.