ScienceDirect provides access to Ebooks published by a range of publishers, predominantly covering the Sciences, but including Social Sciences and Humanities subjects.
We have subscribed to all ebooks collection which includes 250 textbooks, 28 000 monographs, 5000 series, 185 encyclopedia.
The ebooks are available to print, download, or read online. There is unlimited concurrent user access, which allows a whole class to use the same ebook at the same time.
Engineering Management by
Engineering Management: Meeting the Global Challenges prepares engineers to fulfill their managerial responsibilities, acquire useful business perspectives, and take on the much-needed leadership roles to meet the challenges in the new millennium. Value addition, customer focus, and business perspectives are emphasized throughout. Also underlined are discussions of leadership attributes, steps to acquire these attributes, the areas engineering managers are expected to add value, the web-based tools which can be aggressively applied to develop and sustain competitive advantages, the opportunities offered by market expansion into global regions, and the preparations required for engineering managers to become global leaders. The book is organized into three major sections: functions of engineering management, business fundamentals for engineering managers, and engineering management in the new millennium. This second edition refocuses on the new strategy for science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) professionals and managers to meet the global challenges through the creation of strategic differentiation and operational excellence. Major revisions include a new chapter on creativity and innovation, a new chapter on operational excellence, and combination of the chapters on financial accounting and financial management. The design strategy for this second edition strives for achieving the T-shaped competencies, with both broad-based perspectives and in-depth analytical skills. Such a background is viewed as essential for STEM professionals and managers to exert a strong leadership role in the dynamic and challenging marketplace. The material in this book will surely help engineering managers play key leadership roles in their organizations by optimally applying their combined strengths in engineering and management.
Nanoparticle Technology Handbook by
Nanoparticle technology, which handles the preparation, processing, application and characterisation of nanoparticles, is a new and revolutionary technology. It becomes the core of nanotechnology as an extension of the conventional Fine Particle / Powder Technology. Nanoparticle technology plays an important role in the implementation of nanotechnology in many engineering and industrial fields including electronic devices, advanced ceramics, new batteries, engineered catalysts, functional paint and ink, Drug Delivery System, biotechnology, etc.; and makes use of the unique properties of the nanoparticles which are completely different from those of the bulk materials. This new handbook is the first to explain complete aspects of nanoparticles with many application examples showing their advantages and advanced development.
Nanostructures for the Engineering of Cells, Tissues and Organs by
Nanostructures for the Engineering of Cells: Tissues and Organs showcases recent advances in pharmaceutical nanotechnology, with particular emphasis on tissue engineering, organ and cell applications. The book provides an up-to-date overview of organ targeting and cell targeting using nanotechnology. In addition, tissue engineering applications, such as skin regeneration are also discussed. Written by a diverse range of international academics, this book is a valuable research resource for researchers working in the biomaterials, medical and pharmaceutical industries.
Metadata for Transmedia Resources by
Transmedia is a technique of delivering a single piece of content in individual parts via different media and communication platforms (books, films, TV shows, games, live performances, etc.). In the book transmedia is considered as a case-in-point for the need to rethink library cataloguing and metadata practices in a new, heterogeneous information environment where the ability to bring together information from various sources into a meaningful whole becomes a critical information skill. Transmedia sheds new light on some of the long-existing questions of bibliographic information organisation (the definition of work, modelling of bibliographic relationships, subject analysis of fiction, etc.) and introduces libraries to new, transient and interactive media forms such as interactive fiction, gaming events, or performances. The book investigates how various theories and practices of bibliographic information organisation can be applied to transmedia, focusing on the solutions provided by the new bibliographic conceptual model IFLA LRM, as well as linked open data models and standards. It strongly advocates collaborative practices and reuse of knowledge that underpin an emerging vision of the library catalogue as a 'mediation tool' that assembles, links and integrates information across a variety of communication contexts.