Safari Books Online is a fully-searchable e-reference library housing a collection that covers the technologies most essential to users including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more of the world's best publishers.
Quick presentations and webinars of the most important features are published in the libguide.
Books or videos that refer to working/exercise/code files will often mention the location of these files in a chapter at the beginning or end of the book
Student Resource Manual to Accompany Essentials of Precalculus with Calculus Previews by
Perfect for the one-term course, Essentials of Precalculus with Calculus Previews, Fifth Edition provides a complete, yet concise, introduction to precalculus concepts, focusing on important topics that will be of direct and immediate use in most calculus courses. Consistent with Professor Zill's eloquent writing style , this full-color text offers numerous exercise sets and examples to aid in student comprehension, while graphs and figures throughout serve to illuminate key concepts. The exercise sets include engaging problems that focus on algebra, graphing, and function theory, the sub-text of many calculus problems. The authors are careful to use calculus terminology in an informal and accessible way to facilitate the students successful transition into future calculus courses. With an outstanding collection of student and instructor resources, Essentials of Precalculus with Calculus Previews offers a complete teaching and learning package. Key Features: * Available with WebAssign Online Homework and Grading System * Vibrant four-color design illuminates key concepts and improves students' comprehension of graphs and figures. * Translating Words into Functions section illustrates how to translate a verbal description into a symbolic representation of a function and demonstrates these translations with actual calculus problems. * Chapter Review Exercises include problems that focus on the algebra, graphing, and function theory, the sub-text of so many calculus problems. Review questions include conceptual fill--in-the-blank and true/false, as well as numerous thought-provoking exercises. * The Calculus Preview found at the end of each chapter offers students a glimpse of a single calculus concept along with the algebraic, logarithmic, and trigonometric manipulations that are necessary for the successful completion on typical problems related to that concept. * Provides a complete teaching and learning program with numerous student and instructor resources, including the Student Resource Manual, WebAssign Access, Complete eLearning Center, and * Complete Instructor Solutions Manual. * Includes a new section on simple harmonic motion in Chapter 4. * A new section of parametric equations, as well as a new calculus preview of 3-space, has been added to Chapter 6. * Rotation of polar graphs is now discussed in Section 6.6 * The discussion of the hyperbolic functions in Section 5.4 has been expanded. * Numerous new problems have been added throughout the text. * The final exam at the end of the text has been expanded.
Hacking Product Design by
You can launch a new app or website in days by piecing together frameworks and hosting on AWS. Implementation is no longer the problem. But that speed to market just makes it tougher to confirm that your team is actually building the right product. Ideal for agile teams and lean organizations, this guide includes 11 practical tools to help you collaborate on strategy, user research, and UX. Hundreds of real-world tips help you facilitate productive meetings and create good collaboration habits. Designers, developers, and product owners will learn how to build better products much faster than before. Topics include: Foundations for collaboration and facilitation: Learn how to work better together with your team, stakeholders, and clients Project strategy: Help teams align with shared goals and vision User research and personas: Identify and understand your users and share that vision with the broader organization Journey maps: Build better touchpoints that improve conversion and retention Interfaces and prototypes: Rightsize sketches and wireframes so you can test and iterate quickly
Doing Data Science by
Now that people are aware that data can make the difference in an election or a business model, data science as an occupation is gaining ground. But how can you get started working in a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary field that's so clouded in hype? This insightful book, based on Columbia University's Introduction to Data Science class, tells you what you need to know. In many of these chapter-long lectures, data scientists from companies such as Google, Microsoft, and eBay share new algorithms, methods, and models by presenting case studies and the code they use. If you're familiar with linear algebra, probability, and statistics, and have programming experience, this book is an ideal introduction to data science. Topics include: Statistical inference, exploratory data analysis, and the data science process Algorithms Spam filters, Naive Bayes, and data wrangling Logistic regression Financial modeling Recommendation engines and causality Data visualization Social networks and data journalism Data engineering, MapReduce, Pregel, and Hadoop Doing Data Science is collaboration between course instructor Rachel Schutt, Senior VP of Data Science at News Corp, and data science consultant Cathy O'Neil, a senior data scientist at Johnson Research Labs, who attended and blogged about the course.
Introducing Python by
Easy to understand and fun to read, this updated edition of Introducing Python is ideal for beginning programmers as well as those new to the language. Author Bill Lubanovic takes you from the basics to more involved and varied topics, mixing tutorials with cookbook-style code recipes to explain concepts in Python 3. End-of-chapter exercises help you practice what you've learned. You'll gain a strong foundation in the language, including best practices for testing, debugging, code reuse, and other development tips. This book also shows you how to use Python for applications in business, science, and the arts, using various Python tools and open source packages.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by
The PMBOK® Guide-Sixth Edition - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the Sixth Edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge--including discussion of project management business documents--and information on the PMI Talent Triangle(tm) and the essential skills for success in today's market.